December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Boomerang

by Deity - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You get 1 Boomerang. It comes back to you if it doesn't hit anything. Collect the Orange ball to go to the next level.

Left click to fire boomerang. That's it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#307Graphics3.30
#317Innovation3.17
#466Fun2.90
#554Overall2.95
#570Theme2.73
#644Audio2.13
#678Humor1.85
#689Mood2.48
#998Coolness48%

Comments

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16am

poor boomerang didnt come back

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16am

That was fun/interesting! Great work!

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16am

Hard to predict what the trajectory of the boomerang will be!

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:18am

I really liked the clean, crisp graphical style. Sounds were okay, although they cot a bit annoying after a while. The boomerang's physics felt very weird and inconsistent though.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21am

Cute game ! I lost my boomerang after level 6 :P Good job with the graphics I love the isometric view.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:28am

Cool take on the theme, You've got a pretty fun game here!

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:35am

What a fun game! Well done! The graphic style is clean and the use of the theme very clever.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:40am

A fun, albeit simple game. Not sure how well this fits the theme though.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

A nice but a little unpredictable boomerang. I played for 30 levels, did not know if the game had an end. Simple concept, but nice gameplay.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49am

nicely executed!

dcolgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:44am

Very fun! It's a video game boomerang simulator game.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:10am

The boomerang is hard to predict, but it's fun to play.

nicotuason says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Nice crisp graphics! Bit hard to predict the boomerang's path, but still fun.

Tonasz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30pm

I love this minimalistic art style and enjoyed this idea for puzzle gameplay. :) The mechanics of boomerang could be explained better, but I think I got it. Are levels generated or preseted? And I'm not sure if that's bug, but few times the ball has moved around after failure, and once got inside a tree.

Deity says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:22am

Thanks for all the feedback! Was my first entry to Ludum so I kept my plans simple so I could finish.

Boomerang is definitely a bit tricky. I wanted a fully elliptical path but that didn't work so well so I made it to where the boomerang first goes to where you click then does the full 180 degree semicircle before returning.

@Tonasz: levels are all randomized/generated. And yes I think on the return path, the boomerang can sometimes glitch through trees (collider fail due to the movement/rotation speed I think).

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:35am

I quite like the graphics! It's quite cute. I made a boomerang game too! Quite different to yours which goes to show there's a lot you can do :D
Please check it out!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=29328

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Cute game, though since you can just keep throwing it I dunno how much it adheres to the theme.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:31pm

When there were a few trees and you swung the boomerang between them it was supremely satisfying!

Venturelli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Nice idea, but the boomerang trajectory is a little weird, I think! We made a boomerang game as well, nice to see the same idea generating games in completely different genres :D

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Nice idea, good implementation. but unfortunately it is more luck than skill required. More different levels would also be nice.

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:51pm

A good game. Stuck at level 6 tho ;)

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Pretty good, with clever level design and vibrant graphics. I found, though, that the boomerang mechanic behaved somewhat unreliable sometimes.

Miltage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:12pm

I loved the concept, but the puzzles aren't very well thought out. If you hit the ball, but don't get the boomerang back, the level restarts with the ball in a new position. This makes me think that the levels are actually random and not puzzles at all, more a luck-based game as opposed to a skill/logical one which I hoped it was. Overall, an enjoyable game, nicely done.

diegomachado says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:44pm

I like the minimal graphics style and gameplay! Could improve control (or lack of) the boomerang when it's comming back. Nice work!

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:15am

Interesting idea. Is there a way to predict the direction the boomerang will turn? It's quite hard this way. Funky art style.

Diptoman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Simple and fun! It was hard to know if the boomerang would turn left or right, so too a lot of gambles. The spinning was weird. But other than that, great game, and a great way to kill time.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Really cute looking. Love the game :) I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/fUXvqevl8YI

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]