December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One DIMENSION

by evilDan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the LEFT and RIGHT arrows to move and the UP arrow to 'jump'. Avoid the red and yellow stripes.

<!-- Only works properly in CHROME WEB BROWSER -->

Works best with headphones.

I built this little game in about 3 hours last night. I'll add some music and additional stuffs if there's time before the end of the compo.

THANKS FOR PLAYING!!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#141Theme3.55
#223Innovation3.35
#339Fun3.10
#354Audio2.79
#491Overall3.00
#699Mood2.47
#806Graphics2.26
#1305Coolness39%

Comments

Conflei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

Hahaha Simple but fun, it's a little hard too.

tiffi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:13am

Nice little game of skills, good work

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:10am

Nice use of the theme, it was really fun, and I like the graphics! :)

Baknik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:13am

Took a couple tries to understand what was going on, but once I got it, was very entertaining.

noobsticks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15am

That was really clever. A tutorial might be nice. It took me several lives before I realized that 'up' did something. :)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:47am

Simple and fun ,Could say simply fun.

Crigs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:28am

Neat visualization of 1D! It's technically 2D, right? Alpha represents the second dimension? :P

evilDan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Thanks for playing and giving feedback!

@Crigs - hmmm... I suppose you could say that it has width and depth but no height...

But I don't think alpha counts ;)

bentog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:24pm

____________________________________________________________



Jokes aside, this is an awesome take on the theme!

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:37am

Interesting simple idea. But it takes some time to realise how it works.

zatyka says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Pretty cool. Took me a few tries to really understand what was going on. I liked the positional audio... at least I think it was positional audio.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:50am

Simple but challenging ! Love it !

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:44am

Did you jangle the guitar there too? Like the soundtrack haha. Well done for making something fun and playable in such a short time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]