December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Lone Tower

by Masadow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: I've uploaded a windows version for those who can't run flash version. However, there are some sounds that doesn't play and I don't know why, sorry.

Here we go, my second ludum dare :)

I wasn't mean to participate due to a lack of time. But I'm glad to be there !

I'm happy with what I've done, it took me so much time to find core mechanics with this game concept ! I spent almost 10 consecutive hours on balancing monster's. So I hope you will find it hard, but also that everyone will have enough time to have fun before loosing :D

So here we go with the game itself, it is a kind of tower defense. The main difference is that You Only Get One tower. Don't feel so bad ! You will be able to move it everywehere as it follows your mouse :)

The goal of this game, like any TD is to defeat monsters before they reach your base, here, the right side of the map. Be carefull, you will only get one life !

Killing a monster will reward you some score points and money. Money is used to make some upgrade whereas score points allows you to level up and increase your range.

There is 3 kind of upgrade

* Firerate: Fire more often at ennemies. Upgraded with Q
* Power: Damage deal to enemies. Upgraded with W
* Target: How much ennemies you can shoot at once. Upgraded with E

I spent a lot of time trying to make a decent music, it sounds good but very repetitive, mute it with M if you want to get rid of this.

Music was made with LMMS.
Sounds were made with sfxr.
Arts were made with PyxelEdit.
Code was made with Haxe and HaxeFlixel.

If you are going to compile it, instead of using the standard HaxeFlixel library, please download the one given in links.

Don't forget to enjoy the game, and every comments are welcomed :)

Future:
* Lengthen the music loop
* Better tower placement when mouse is on road
* Rework the UI

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#83Fun3.60
#124Innovation3.57
#133Theme3.57
#190Overall3.43
#427Audio2.66
#437Humor2.36
#495Mood2.76
#709Graphics2.51

Comments

dearenot says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 4:56pm

that's good

ReactorScram says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Got to 15,560. Really fun but I would suggest that the tower moves as close to the cursor as possible. Right now when the cursor is over a road, the tower completely stops moving, so it feels like it's lagging.

Masadow says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Thans for your review. I actually add a point to see where the mouse point. I keep the idea of putting the tower as close as possible for a future release. I have to stop now :(

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:09am

Interesting concept and a nice take on the static tower defense paradigm

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21am

We both did the same idea! Yeah lol!

Yours is done VERY well though. I like your take on it much more.

tiffi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:23am

I really enjoyed this game! Great concept!

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:25am

tklovert: Ahah I've bookmarked yours yesterday already ! I will give it a try next week. I think I've started with something similar as you, but finally get rid of all these clicking stuff that made the game slow. I chose to make a game more action based than reflexion based :)

Blupsy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44am

Mechanic is pretty darn cool, and can't be fun and frantic at times.

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:45am

This is pretty cool. High marks across the board. Interesting mechanic, i played a few rounds.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:49am

Really entertaining!

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55am

I hate tower defense games, but thankfully this is a parody of one. Nice job!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:54am

This is great -- the second only-one-tower tower defense game I've seen so far, but I like this one better because you can just put the tower anywhere.

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Nice twist for a tower defense. The artwork was slightly small for my taste, but it was quite enjoyable!

Hemuuuli says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Really solid game. It is a bit hard to keep track of how much money you have and what upgrades you can afford.

DanielVF says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51pm

This is fun! You've got a great game mechanic!

As other have mentioned, it would be nice to have a better way of handling the upgrades, since with the frantic pace, it's hard to even have time to look at how much money you have.

Homletmoo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Very nice concept. Perhaps could have been a bit more zoomed in, though.

Jago says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Love the concept! Difficulty was just right: it was challenging yet fun. I actually thought about similar one tower tower defence game, but dumped the idea.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Very fast paced for a tower defence game, gets very difficult very quickly. Learnt quickly to upgrade as soon a possible. Audio gets a but repetitive but that's ok. Graphics are actually really good, everything is easy to see and the enemies stand out although are a bit small. Overall is pretty awesome.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Pretty good, though it was a little hard to see everything because it was so small.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Ocarina of lime: I started with a slow paced game, but it was very annoying. :(

all: Thanks for your comments, with so many good feedback, I will definitely continue to work on this !

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Really fun and addictive game! Simple but very nicely done. I like the multiple fire upgrade so i save money and then i lose...I'll try again.

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Really nice game, only that the power powerup is a little bit op. Nicely balanced otherwise.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Really cool twist on tower defense.

mactinite says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:07pm

I got overwhelmed pretty fast but this was interesting. I liked your take on the theme. First tower defense I've played this go 'round!

Anachron says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Cool concept, and very challenging. Like tower defence but more action-oriented and frantic.

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:46am

Now I've seen everything. A movable tower defense game. It was quite fun. I especially appreciate the upgrades as they gave me a goal to work towards (besides not getting killed).

oxysoft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:09am

Fantastic interpretation of the theme, graphics were kind of lacking but the game was very fun and satisfying. But like ReactorScram said, it feels like the tower is lagging because it stops following when you hover over roads

Crigs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09am

Gotta echo previous sentiments that this was a really clever twist on the TD genre. It felt and played very well. Great job!

arkeus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:19am

Love the idea!

YsenGrimm says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:10am

Funny game, would love to see a "full" game with this concept. Good work :D.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Nice idea, but it lags sometimes. Good job

local minimum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Good. It took me a while to get the upgrades and when I did I didn't have enough time to do anything rational so I just hammered on the Q W and E. That is, maybe give some initial feedback for us non-TD gamers that one can now buy e.g. Firerate.

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:44pm

local minimum: I'm not a TD gamer and like you, I'm having a very hard to time to make rational use of upgrades. I will work on that ! Still have to think about how to design it ;) Thanks for your feedback

supremefist says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Well done! Got 15000 :) Was fun!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Nice twist on tower defense! At first the mouse seemed to be lagging, but now I see that the red dot indicates the cursor, and that when you move the cursor over the roads, that the tower won't follow. It would be better if the tower would always be placed at he closest possible position to the cursor.

By the way, thanks for playing our game, but you played a premature version of the game (2 hours before the jam deadline). Maybe you want to check out the final version. :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:11pm

The game is nice and it requires interesting choices.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Fun game! Improve on a couple of things and I expect this game to go on kongregate!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Neat twist on the genre.

Alink says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Simple but fun game. Nice variation on the tower defense genre and good use of the theme.

sprawl says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:59pm

The upgrades make this gun very fun. Got 16.3k

In the balance, you could probably make the slow ones get harde to kill, because it took more shots to kill the small ones at the end :P

Masadow says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:11am

sprawl: I take note ! I'm so bad at my own game, I never reach a such score ahah

Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:14am

Hey Masadow, Im just passing by to say that I really appreciated your feedback on my game. Thank you very much!
And wow, 45 hits!!! Im glad you enjoyed it.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Really nice variation on the tower theme. Oddly enough, the enemies didn't move on my version? (which made it rather easy for me) ;-) I think this was because I ran the .swf directly as the web page wasn't loading for me. (maybe there are some variables set up in the web page) Anyway, really nice game! (and thanks for your review of mine)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Masadow, that would be nice. Do you have twitter?
Perhaps you might like to play an alpha version of my upcoming game. It's not on the same style, but it would be nice to listen what would you say about it :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:50am

Very interesting take on the theme and the first ever single tower TD I've ever played. I really liked it. Good Job.

fluffypillow says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:35am

Great game!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:54am

Nice combination of action and tower defense! I like this concept. Also the music sounds good. You may make the UI more apparent though.

mortus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Fun game and a refreshing take on a genre! Controls are funny sometimes, the cannon won't move sometimes even if you move mouse (or is it a feature?).

Masadow says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:48pm

mortus: It is because you have your mouse on road. I've fixed that already with a better control in my post mortem version :)

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:08pm

It took me few minutes to get it, clicking frantically to place the tower, then I realized. Great concept, plays nice!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Great simplified take on the tower defense genre. The enemies feel well-balanced too.

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:46am

This game was challenging, but extremely fun. Great work.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Initiative spin on a tired genre, but very difficult. One thing to note it that I did not even notice the HUD at first as it did not stand out very well and was rather small.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:03am

Really good idea, and an interesting play on the tower defence genre. Great work!

zkenshin says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Neat idea, well done!

deepnight says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Excellent idea, perfectly fits the theme :)
The game could be much more strategic if the Tower could hit every targets in range. In your version, it's actually basically useless to place the tower in angles or crossroads because of that.
Good job :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]