December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Redemption

by SilentBunny - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The village elders need your help.
___________________________________________________

Controls ::
arrow keys for movement
d to dash on floor
up + <direction> + t to air dash from floor

Can wall jump and cling
___________________________________________________
Potentially 3 different endings for those who manage their way to the finish.
___________________________________________________
If you need the screen to be bigger zoom in your browser window, usually <ctrl> <+>

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#478Fun2.88
#603Graphics2.73
#624Humor1.97
#688Audio1.98
#690Overall2.78
#730Mood2.43
#886Theme2.09
#896Innovation2.16

Comments

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Post you best times :)

poingferret says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:04pm

It's good, classic platformed in some ways. I really like the speed boost!

yugillaume says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Found anice shotcut, but im not even able to finish this game XD

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:03am

Really annoying like any good platformer should be.. Love it! ^^
I'll drop back once I can vote! :D

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:57am

Tweaked the speed so it is less a pain in the but when attempting jumps :)

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:31am

That one sound effect is really harsh. I like classic platformers. I wasn't really able to figure out what to do, I can see villagers but can't get to them.

cdgugler says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:40am

Fun game! Pretty hard, kept trying to thread that first shortcut but only made it once.

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43am

This is a good platformer once you get the hang of it (especially wall hang/dash/jump burst), though I'm not into the hard-as-fun genre. I barely reached the second story.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

pretty sweet game :)

deathray says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08am

I'm no good at platformers, so I gave up quickly. Any way to make the view size larger?

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12am

I'm going to have spike filled nightmares.

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:46am

hehe, it's a tough one :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

That was fun, I stopped trying to go the whole way and instead started to drop between the hole between the nails just below the first platform. that gets you to the third story immediately

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:01am

shh, it's supposed to be a secret

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02am

Man that is hard, great work for 48hours. Love the graphics, pity the BG isnt in the same style. It can get a little buggy in the smaller gaps. Too hard for me.

madlee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09am

Nice twitch platformer here. I wish the view area were just a *little* bigger, but thats kind of minor. I never really got far, but did discover a nice shortcut :)

BluShine says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16am

It's like I Wanna Be The Guy... only harder. The air dash thing is a cool mechanic, but really hard to use! I don't think I can ever hope to be able to beat this game.
Wall sliding seems to glitch-out sometimes, and you get stuck to the wall. Sprites seem kinda weird, the bamboo spike tips don't always line up with the stems. And the jump sound is quite harsh.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19am

Very simple and effective platformer never could get to the end but I never do finish most the games I play lol, It was fun.

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58am

Very challenging platformer. The air dash was really difficult to use. I couldn't get very far, but it was fun nonetheless! Nice work!

cBit says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:08am

This game was fun, but it was a bit too difficult for me. I like the Super Meat Boy styled platforming, but the gravity seemed a bit too strong. Then again, a hard platformer is a good one! If the graphics were refined, background audio added, and more levels/mechanics were implemented, I'd buy it!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:59am

Rated! ^^

rubna says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Very enjoyable platformer! Simple, but a lot of fun :D

Robinerd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Nice gameplay feeling, I really like the movement mechanics, but too bad everything is so tiny.. Well done though!

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:43pm

The physics are pretty well tuned, and its fun to move around. I died a lot lawl.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I really like how this game is layed out. I found myself trying to explore to find any shortcuts. As a result, I spent my entire time exploring, and not a lot of time trying to get anywhere in particular. There's something to be said for a game that allows me the freedom to play how I want. I got to the revenge guy in 18 seconds, so if that counts as an ending that's my best time. Great work, I'll definitely be playing more of this.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:40pm

The platforming was very good, but the implementation of the theme only hindered the game and there was a way to skip the first two layers by going to the third platform and holding left.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Beat the game in about 19 seconds. by going to the third platform and holding left, you can skip the first two layers.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Neat game, the game size is too small to my taste. Good job

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:45pm

@SuperPokeunicorn
the skips are there on purpose ;)

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:22am

A bit too frustrating for me, but I loved the little pixel guys :)

miklyha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:48am

Haa...fun game!

hardycore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Pretty good game, though not sure if this relates much to the theme.

goyal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:14am

Nice but tough. Weird choice for keys 'd' and 't'. Couldn't finish it, keep dying :(

jonask says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:33pm

I couldn't get this running properly in Firefox, after the splash screen the screen turned black.

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:47pm

I enjoyed it. My framerate wasn't the best, so I had some collision issues, but I won't hold that against you. Cute graphics. Difficulty was almost too frustrating... almost (not enough for me to quit or stop enjoying myself).

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:01am

I liked the graphics, but as others said, was a little buggy in places and hard to get around reliably. A little tweaking though, could be solid. Some more sounds /fx would be cool too, some audible or visual feedback for when you're wall sliding / dashing etc would be good.

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:00am

Great platform game.. it reminded me 8bit games...a little too hard...Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]