December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cup's Quest

by paulopn - Jam Entry

This is the first game that I (Paulo) make as a team with my girlfriend (Bianca)! I made the code, while she made the art.

The concept of the game is simple: you have to reach the end of the dungeon, fighting monsters and solving puzzles, but with a catch:

Cup, the hero of the game, has only one arm, so he can only hold one item!
The item you choose at the beginning of each stage will define how you progress through it, with every item having many uses.

Originally, we planed for many more items and stages, but, of course, that wasn't possible. Currently, there are 2 short stages playable, showing everything we could make.
We are definitely going to improve this game later, though.

Probably very buggy, I'll correct everything possible as soon as I can. Web version coming soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#232Graphics(Jam)3.33
#257Theme(Jam)2.78
#262Overall(Jam)3.11
#296Fun(Jam)2.78
#329Audio(Jam)2.65
#348Mood(Jam)2.69
#394Innovation(Jam)2.50
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29am

Really enjoyed the graphical style with the sprites in the 3D world, reminded me of Pokemon or Paper Mario. I wanted to play more, I was disappointed when it was over!

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:07pm

A fantastic start, a neat idea, would love to see more.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Nice game.. grat unity but.. too fast!

tiffi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:17pm

I really liked the graphics, cool 2.5d style. It's lacking content though, but I enjoyed it!

Radnen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:31pm

The audio was loud and squeeling, ugh! The game was interesting though and I'm not sure on the 3D when 2D would have worked perhaps better.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Awesome Art! Lots of z-fighting unfortunately. I liked how you made little puzzles based on the weapon you chose.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:34am

Interesting game. I had to play it twice because I just jumped over the obstacles at first.

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:38am

Difficult to hanlde

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]