December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

STAR BATTER

by CTATZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

YOU ARE THE STAR BATTER.
FATE EMPOWERS YOU TO DESTORY.
HOWEVER THERE ARE RULES
YOU ONLY HAVE ONE CHANCE TO DESTROY A PLANET
IF YOU FAIL FATE IS IN THE PLANETS FAVOR
BATTER UP.



CONTROLS
CLICK ASTROID, DRAG, RELEASE (The length of the drag matters)
When on fire press SPACE to break through Glass and UFOS
PURPLE SATELLITSE TELEPORT YOU
WATCH OUT FOR BLACK HOLES AS THEY ARE DISORENTATING AND VIOLENT
HOWEVER THEY CAN BE USED AS A SLINGSHOT

As always, it was a blast.

I would love to communicate with you through Twitter!
Follow me @CamTatz

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#273Innovation3.25
#276Audio2.94
#335Graphics3.24
#356Humor2.58
#384Mood2.93
#590Overall2.90
#674Fun2.61
#783Theme2.37

Comments

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34am

Nice game, I really liked the graphics, but it was pretty hard to get the hang of, and I missed a fullscreen option.

scoopsy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:35am

Good work! I loved the spectral batter! Pretty challenging to keep click/dragging on the asteroid.

The planet explosion effect was very neat, would love to know how you did that.

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:36am

I love the animation in this. Very hard to control, but fun.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:37am

Really like the art work and a very interesting setting. Controls were a little fiddly, and pretty difficult to get used to, but still had some fun. Being able to destroy objects wasn't really all that clear, probably needed a nice big straight away to make sure people "get it" the first time.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53am

I love a good space game! Very nice!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:59am

innovative! bit hard to control.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:03am

It took me a little bit to really understand how to control the asteriod, but once I did, it was pretty neat!

errorage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53am

Gonna have to agree with the 'difficult to control' comments. It would probably work great on a touch sensitive screen tho. It would probably also work a lot better with a mouse if you weren't required to click on the planet to start dragging (so you could pick an arbitrary position and just move the mouse in whichever location you wanted your planet to move, relative to the mouse's initial position)

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55am

Big of a learning curve w/ the controls. Super pumped to see a space themed game in here! Great work!

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00am

love the animations, great job

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33am

It bugged out the first time I tried but upon refresh I was able to play. The controls are a bit frustrating, requiring you to continuously click on the asteroid and not just anywhere on the screen.

loggs2 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:47am

The idea of batting asteroids at planets is wacky and I love it. It was hard to control the asteroid but once I got the hang of it it was more fun to play.

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:35am

This is fun, very unique concept.

stayg0lden says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:58am

Addicting fun game, Play in full screen for maximum control.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:17am

I really liked this physics/twitch based mini-golf style game. It's a bit difficult at first, but fun the whole way through, nice work!

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Love the music and graphics. Was a little difficult to control, but very well done!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:15pm

A indicator something like a simple line between the asteroid and the mouse would have helped a lot while dragging. Because I did not really understand at first how this is supposed to work.

But after I found this out, it was quite fun!

nicotuason says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Love the concept and the art is charming! Controls could be easier but still a fun game.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:32pm

very nice concept, handling the astroid was pretty hard on at the beginning but eased a bit after playing a while.

dudsen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Stars can play baseball too? I Knew it ! LOVE the music and sfx (especially @ intro :D ). Pretty hard to play with a trackpad though. Bookmarked for some more more playing with a mouse later on.

Again, nice work man!

dementor561 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:03pm

this sucks

Eric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Its a fun game but kinda hard to get the controls down.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:33am

I love the concept and graphics, but for me this was hard to play on my laptop's touchpad. I'll try with a mouse tomo :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:19am

This is the funniest game I have played thus far. The intro reminds me of going to the arcade(like 20 years ago) back when it was amazing to hear a voice in a video game... like "blades of steel". Good show. If you don't know about blades of steel : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fDwQh-RGCHI

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:56am

Kinda made me think about going to the toilet........

fued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:40am

fun game, little bit hard on a touchpad tho haha

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:25am

Really interesting game and a nice challenge!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Interesting game. The constant clicking and dragging makes it really difficult. Good use of the theme though.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:25am

Nice work ! That was challenging, cool game !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]