December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Sword To Escape

by Gas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello everyone im gasquake this is my second successful ludumdare entry and im actually quite proud of it the only thing I would have changed was to enter the jam and have help from an artist but I did the best I could for art :P! the object of the game is to escape from the test facility that you are put in and are being tested at by a scientist. I hope you all enjoy it and don't forget to rate it! Thank you.

MAIN Controls(for more detailed controls there is a "Directions" option in the game)
Move: Left, Right, Space
Attack: Z

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#851Theme2.20
#931Overall2.38
#934Fun2.07
#947Graphics1.87
#980Innovation1.80
#1479Coolness28%

Comments

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41am

Really like the humor of the writing and the "beam up" when you die. Trying to jump right next to a step is a bit hard and timing the sword attack is tricky. Well done overall, I had fun playing it.

Sylence says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:12am

Nice graphics :)
The game itself is a bit tricky but fun.

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Good job!

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:44pm

How am I supposed to get back up in Level 2 when I fall down? :D

Gas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56pm

@dqmhose on the levels you can fall down you can press r to restart it

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:18pm

The controls are hard, and jumping feels a little bit weird.
On level two it would be nice to have a lower platform so player can start again without hitting 'R', when he fall down.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:07pm

I think that your control does not allow for the influence of multiple directions at once. I think that might be easy to fix so that if you hit up and left at the same time both take effect rather than having to do one then the other for combined motion. The main thing I would change though is the zoom level, maybe making the game window larger so that we could see your pixel art more clearly. This would add a lot to the charm of the game. The beam animation is really cool though. I debated making dying more "rewarding" in my game but I chose to spend time elsewhere. But now after seeing your beam I regret my decision.

Nelien says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:41pm

The controls are bit inexact, specifically jumping; but it's still a fun enough platformer.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Sorry, some java problem doesn't let me run the game.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Nevermind, my bad, made a typo when entering the command that starts the game. The game is fun, but the connection with the theme is too cheap.

Gas says ...
Jan 16, 2014 @ 1:07am

Thanks for all of you that rated my game! im happy with my results and I like that game overall. :D see you next LD

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]