December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One shot

by Jod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Visual Novel game.
More information to come!
Made in Ren'Py.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#86Mood3.58
#124Humor3.32
#150Overall3.52
#169Fun3.40
#183Audio3.16
#184Graphics3.64
#276Innovation3.24
#313Theme3.20
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:18pm

The interface feels unnecessarily complicated and a "skip intro" button would have been nice.

Otherwise I liked it! Sadly the emperor did not approve of my cardboard hiding abilities...

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:28pm

That was very cool! I took the cigarettes, naturally, thinking that I could use them to barter for information on the surface, maybe get myself in as a chef's assistant or something. Unfortunately, the choices often just came back to distracting the guards and shooting them. Still, a very cool experience! I got the bad ending...

Renpy!

Mocuto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:04am

It was pretty fun to mess around with the item choices and see what I could get away with. (Lol, don't pick the box, people.)The story and writing was pretty decent too. The graphics were also quite nice. My only complaint is the music. I feel it could've been better; it weakened the mood of the game by making the action feel sluggish. Still, overall, I'd say this was a good game. It made great use of Renpy's game engine.

netguy204 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:06am

Very impressed. I don't know how much of this is Renpy and how much is you but I love the way you build a plan for interactions and then commit them.

Music, graphics, writing: all superb.

local minimum says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Really nice graphics, and well written story. Didn't get too far, but that's probably my fault. The intro back-story could be made a little shorter.

A general comment: Currently you only have 5 votes. The reason is that you must rate to get rated. That's how Ludum Dare works, so hurry rate at least 20 games. And be sure to leave comments as people will tend to rate back. With this few raters it will be very random what rating you get!

psc1997 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Woooow ! Amazing thing created in RenPy ! Really big congratulations ! It's amazing !

Moosefly says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Wow, didn't know you could make something like this with Ren'Py! Very impressive and an interesting game overall. The story was surprisingly good for a game made in 48 hours.

Jan Marcano says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:42am

Nice graphics, nice story. really good job

Mezzomatto says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:34am

Nice idea, great aesthetic. Unfortunately many of the outcomes didn't fit. That is, the text indicated I had made it into the compound and yet it took me back to the start (after using the grappling hook for example). It was also frustrating that I had to start the game again to use a different item but it is still an interesting attempt at a game mechanic that may or may not have paid off. Points of trying something different.

cappelnord says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:32pm

That was pretty cool! +1 for all the choices!

Pitzik4 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:36pm

I really enjoyed this game! I got all 4 endings, although the 4th took me completely by surprise because I was just combining stuff to get funny failure messages and wasn't expecting the most serious ending to suddenly appear. The writing is great, and I actually like the way none of the story is actually shown in the images, it made it a bit more like reading a book.

steamgirl says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Unfortunately anything I choose (knife, hacking tools, cardboard box) gives me an exception error. game/location.rpy renpy/common/000statements.rpy error reading PNG file. :(

Using the Windows version.

Jod says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:38pm

@All: Thanks for the comments, it means a lot!

@steamgirl: That's really odd, it should run just fine on windows. Might be something didn't really go well with the unzipping? Only thing I can think of since others managed to make it through the game alright.

mcapraro says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:17am

nice mood set. good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]