December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Sword

by mybluecorners - Jam Entry

One Sword

My first LD game submission!

In this game, you only get one button to control both your movement and attack. Hold SPACE to brake. When you come to a stop, you will swing your sword!
Your character constantly accelerates, and you must time your brakes correctly.
Try to outrun the purple wall of danger and reach the end!

Barely missed the deadline on this one. As a consequence, there is no sound! I would also have liked to have more enemies + levels. I'll probably polish this up in the future.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#86Innovation(Jam)3.41
#133Theme(Jam)3.23
#311Fun(Jam)2.74
#363Humor(Jam)2.00
#380Mood(Jam)2.59
#387Overall(Jam)2.81
#433Graphics(Jam)2.56
#477Audio(Jam)1.27

Comments

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:27am

Very fun! Difficult too! Sounds would have been great but I like it nonetheless.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:36am

pretty interesting! and difficult. good job

jongtao says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:38am

It's quite difficult to get the timing right, but it's fun.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:39am

The play looks like it would be fun but it was very hard to tell how the braking/sword swinging mechanism was working. I died a LOT and didn't seem to be improving. Maybe add a "speed" bar that helps you judge how long before you are stopped?

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:32am

Good game! Pretty well-executed with a unique concept.

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:14am

This game has changed the way I play this game. When I first played this game I slid to a stop and enjoyed this game to its fullest. I will be the same for never after this experience. Good work as always bluecorner.

Roks87 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:38am

Very original, played for longer than expected, has a good amount of difficulty.

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:41am

Extremely difficult xD

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:51am

I like this idea, it has some potential.

SiM2SiM says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:53am

Great game, loved the music.

SiM2SiM says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:54am

Great game, quite hard but still good

pkenney says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:13am

A very unique idea - cool!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Great use of theme in the mechanics! Would be awesome with some polish :)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:42am

The use of one button for so many things was pretty cool! Was very difficult but had fun! Just needed some fast paced music to make it feel complete, but oh well, time restrictions.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:03pm

A good mechanic but you still need to improve it a bit. Other than that a good game :)

mobyvb says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:09pm

I really like the mechanics and art.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]