December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

OP is OP

by TeamQuadratic - Jam Entry

OP is OP, or One Power is Overpowered is an apocalyptic platformer. As the apocalypse drew nearer, caused by a series of solar flares and meteorite strikes, Professor Nemo Sas was tasked by the government with creating abilities to allow humans to survive in the new conditions. Unfortunately, due to a small flaw, using more than one at a time proves to be lethal. Therefore, the Professor created 13 test subjects, or his Temptare. While undergoing testing with his selected ability, Test Subject 12 was caught in a lab explosion as the end of the world began. Now he must use his one ability to reach safety. Can he do it? Only time will tell, and time is running out...

There may be some bugs, especially with the physics. Sorry in advance. Made with Game Maker Studio.

Credits:
Programming - Wizered67 (Adam V.)
Graphics - Hoovyscoot (Josh D.), Pandadog123 (Paul K.)
Level Design - Viper1044 (Ryan G.), Pandadog123 (Paul K.)
Music - Kayfon (Kevin L.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#225Theme(Jam)2.88
#285Audio(Jam)2.80
#358Humor(Jam)2.03
#380Innovation(Jam)2.54
#394Fun(Jam)2.53
#402Overall(Jam)2.76
#419Graphics(Jam)2.64
#438Mood(Jam)2.36

Comments

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:24pm

I like the fundamentals, the idea of choosing a superpower. The levels were a bit too hard, some of the jumps in particular, and the controls are not tight enough to allow you to do them well. Also, the music was pretty bad-ass!

whiteknife says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Awesome music, but the physics system is really annoying and makes things that seem like they should be simple become extremely frustrating.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:47pm

I liked the idea of choosing my power, also I enjoyed to fly.

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:42pm

The concept is good. I think the game it's a bit slow. But the platfotm action is good too.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Pretty cool little game. Only issue I had with it was being inside the tents and still getting hit by meteors. It killed me and broke the game.. I'll play some more later.

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:40pm

The idea is good. Also had problems with the physics, but i'd like to see a more complete version.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Thanks for the feedback guys. I'm going to play around with the sliding when moving and see if that helps improve the controls.
@Scipio I was thought I fixed that issue with the tents, but I'll double check that later and upload a fix.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:47am

Uploaded a new version with minor changes and a bug fix. Hoping to get a web version up in the coming days.

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:32am

The idea and the music are great :D but the control it's so hard :(

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:31pm

I agree that the idea, music and game is great! The gameplay is difficult, though!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:58pm

It was frustrating! The change of graphical style was kind of weird too. Otherwise, it's a pretty nice entry.

Paco says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Liked the concept but I'm sure this needs more levels. Mostly because, since there is so few levels, one power is too more useful than others... the thing to scream, was the "hardest" for me, the flying is too op, and the strong arms was like just walking to the end. Maybe with more levels this could get very interesting, but nice work.
Also, take care about music with very short loops.

Paco says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:14pm

sorry about the grammar, spelling and all that :/

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:23pm

The alternate paths for alternate powers was very cool - it made we want to know what the other powers were, and figure out if they'd be easier or hard to use. I'd love to have had more of a description when picking my power, or at least a name - there wasn't a good way to predict what power you were choosing. Wasn't a fan of the asteroids or solar flares on the final level - I hid inside a cave to avoid getting hit by the solar flare only to have an asteroid kill me.

multikorv says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Solid idea and some challenge! I really like it, well designed levels.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:28am

The different superpowers could easily be used as an innovative difficulty selection method :P. The game felt a bit floaty from the start which made the time slowing power rather useless, atleast compared to the others!

The sun mechanic felt a bit shoehorned, maybe you should've upped the difficulty trough enemies and other obstacles which wouldn't have interrupted the gameplay as much.

Technically it worked very well, I didn't have any problems with the physics either.

Btw,

Doublejump + glide > Screech > Rock hand > Time slowing

Mutt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:01am

Overall pretty good. Most of the powers were pretty meh but I really really loved the gravity defyer power -- never would have thought that combining double jump and glide on one jump key would work as well as it did, and it feels just right. The sprite for it was pretty cool too. I'd kinda like to see a game that focused on just that power, with unlimited use of course.

haveric says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:52am

Music is awesome, but either the jump needs to be less floaty or the platforms should be a little bigger or even just move farther before switching directions. I ended up floating above some platforms and trying to figure out which way the platform would be going by the time I landed.

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:12am

Nobody likes you screecher! I enjoyed it quite a bit, had to try out all of the powers.

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Like the music, quite hard to pick powerup when you don't know what they will do. Dying inside a tent seemed to cause the game to be unplayable. I don't really get the point of the solar flare, they only make the player wait. The sound after completing the first level was a bit too loud.

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Nice work. The comic style intro was really cool. I also like that you came up with an interesting story. I found the game a bit hard to control but other than that it was really well done!

pusheax says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Stone arms is OP. Got to the end without much trouble. Liked the idea with tents.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:42am

Good work and good going.
Keep it up!

sam1373 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:32pm

I thought this game was going to be boring, but it was actually pretty fun, good job!

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:14pm

I liked the presentation in comic form, gave the game more flavour. good presentation of the multiple devices you can use. though I wouldn't have used message boxes, but that's for the next jam ;) Platforming was a bit floaty, but felt decent enough.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]