December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dumb Treasures

by GagaPete - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*Gameplay*
You are the commander of your countries army. Due to financial problems, all your soldiers ran away... except for one. You sent this guy to a treasure island but now you have to help the only guy you can get to find all the 16 treasures and refill your countries financial resources.

*System requirements*
I tested the game in the latest versions of Chrome an Firefox. If you find a bug, please provide the version of the browser in use.
[Update] Graphics are a little bit blurry in IE11 but it runs.

*Credits*
Sounds have been generated using BXFR.
I used the NES Color Palette found on Wikipedia.

*Too less?*
Due to unplanned circumstances, I had only about 8 hours to write that game. So I started focusing on finishing it somehow and at least bringing a few sounds to it. I wanted to submit at least something playable :)

*Source*
I'll upload a zipped version of the game after I cleaned up the source. But feel free to use your browsers -> "View source" functionality.

! TO START A GAME, PRESS X !
I accidentally removed the message short before submission. Will fix that later.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#426Humor2.39
#623Graphics2.69
#712Audio1.83
#815Mood2.27
#857Fun2.30
#901Overall2.45
#976Innovation1.85
#984Theme1.70

Comments

ob6160 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:17pm

If only you had more time! it looks like it'd be amazing with more to do :)

BluMist says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:24pm

This game was awful cute and pretty fun.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:02am

Nice start!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:41am

It's a cute little game you got there.

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:58am

Quite nice for eight hours of work.

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55pm

It's not working for me or I don't know how to start. I only see an image and can't do anything. Latest Chrome, console is clear.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13pm

@Tanner To start the game, you have to press X. I accidentally removed the message short before submission. Added a hint to the notes. Thanks for pointing that out.

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00pm

@GagaPete now it works :) nice game, simple.

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Cuuuuuuute. I got all the treasures! :-D *clink!*

Also, I notice the title attribute of the page is "DumP Treasures," which is probably unintentional? But also made me giggle a lot more than it should because I'm mentally five and poop joke.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Pfew! That was hard!

Kyatric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:01pm

It's missing at least one element of challenge (maybe one enemy or something like that).

Nevertheless congrats on releasing a game in 8 hours !

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:39am

You succeed in having a pretty solid basis in 8 hours.
What a nice island with all these treasure chests :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Congrats on completing a game in such a short time!

Erkberg says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:44am

It's not much, but the foundation is solid. It could do with some more exploration and some hidden chests or maybe chests you only reach by solving simple roll-stones-around puzzles or something like that.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:55am

Thanks for your feedback. After I submitted I had a bad feeling about this game but I think I can turn it into something interesting. In the end, it is a web game and short web games aren't bad games. Sure, currently it is too short but I can improve that for sure. Hope I'll find some time after Christmas.

@thatwhichtis
Thanks for the hint, that was totally unintentional. I think I'll integrate that as an easteregg. (may typing your nick to unlock it? I donno yet :)

@Kyatric
I'll probably add some kind of difficulties to the game at some point. Not sure if an moving enemy (may an animal) or simple time consuming traps. Currently the difficulty is the time. What was yours? :D

@Erkberg
I like the idea of stone puzzles, may I'll use that in a later version to make some harder to reach bonus sections. The idea with hidden treasures came to my mind as well. I'll totally to that.

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:28pm

That was cool! Good job! Got all the treasures too :)

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Really nice for a 8h job. Should be faster, tho

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Good job for 8 hours of work!

marccspro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:38pm

You done a lot in 10h !

Fenmar says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:08pm

I really enjoyed your game :-) Made a Let's Play video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YxKt2HA2CHQ (second part)

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:15am

nice start :) I hope you find time to complete the idea you started out with

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:03pm

If this was made in eight hours i feel that something great could have come out of the full 48. Well I hope your next jam turns out better.

Xaychru04 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:06pm

The level generation trolled me, it put a chest in the water... -_-' The tiling system is a bit weird sometimes too, but on the overall it's a nice little game! :)

GagaPete says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:11pm

@Xaychru04:
Ouch, I hoped this would never happen.
Yeah, I thought I catched all cases in tiling but when I started generating the maps, I found the ugly bits. I'll fix this in a post-compo version.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]