December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Who ate all the pies ???

by DustyStylus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get ONE HOUR (well... 2 minutes really) to interview each suspect and find out who ate all the pies! D:

Constable: "But sarge? That ain't much..."
Sarge: "SHUT IT YOU SLAAAAAG!".

Using an interface vaguely reminiscent of "Captain Blood" on Atari ST / Amiga, interview each suspect and try and find out who ate all the pies before the timer runs out.

IMPORTANT NOTES:
- If you don't have a mousewheel, you can use A/D with SHIFT to move the icon bar.
- You don't have to use "?" to ask a question, it is inferred and simply required for some dialog that comes back to you.
- Pies are probably a good topic to start with.
- If required, you need to insult _with_ the question, not an insult on it's own.
- If you succeed, feel free to keep asking questions before moving on. i.e., tell them you love them, etc. :)

(Uploading Linux version - I don't have Linux, so please let me know if there are any issues and I'll try to fix them.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#12Innovation4.13
#31Audio3.73
#39Humor3.81
#148Graphics3.75
#153Mood3.38
#391Overall3.14
#549Fun2.79
#797Theme2.33

Comments

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:08pm

There is too much options, it is rather complicated to get something valid. But i like the overall humor and graphics.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Haha, nice concept but blooming hard to get your head around at first! graphics and voice are ace!

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:27pm

This is a really cool idea. The music and sound effects fit nicely and make for a good atmosphere. The concept is fun and innovative. It's hard to find valid questions though. One improvement that could be made is adding more variations to existing replies and making it so the game recognizes more combinations. That way you feel like you're getting somewhere even if you don't manage to win.

Basically make it a bit more straight forward so you don't need to explain as much first, and you got a great game!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Thanks guys, as the time ran out (I originally wanted 3 suspects) I had to trim more an more of the dialog out and the hints became less and less useful.

I've added a Walkthrough to the links. :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Scrolling of the words is confusing. Aside from that it's very nice ! Reminds me Captain Blood.

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Very nice game! I did not get very far but I really liked the concept and graphics. One of the best games I've seen so far.

Miltage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:51pm

I really like the concept, although the icons system is really clumsy to navigate. It would be easier if they were all laid out to see. Loved the humour, graphics and sound.

mamoniem says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:02pm

hahahah, new way to play :)

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:15pm

well made entry, the icons should be laid out so all of them are visible instead of scrolling, also it might work better with picking words instead of icons

Nancybeast says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:34pm

This is absolutely amazing! I love the humor and how you work out what they are saying!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:47pm

It's a really interesting concept! I'd love to know how you did it behind the scenes!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Thanks everyone. :)

acp_ld: Yeah, "Captain Blood" (old ST game) had 2 rows of icons, now I think about it. For the limited dictionary (a lot of which isn't used due to time constraints ;__; ) it would've helped a bit.

OriginalBigDan: I'll do a postmortem soon! A nasty bug in a global static class almost right towards the deadline almost made me pull out of the compo until I squished it. D:

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:20am

"Me love you" "? ? ? Cry Cry Cry" AHAH.

Very funny. Would be better to put all icons in one line or two so you don't need to scroll. Great concept anyway

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:46am

Clever concept and funny responses. Good job

kunzbe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:43am

Oh something truely different.
The voice-brabel are funny and are well done.
But its hard to get a valid sentence out of the officer

Mase says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Nice work on the voices. Very amusing setting.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Very good sense of humor :) Got a bit lost with all those options XD. But it's lot of fun to explore them!

Masadow says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Hey, you had some issues playing my game. I've uploaded a new version for windows users. Don't hesitate to try again the browser link. If your flash player is not outdated, you shouldn't have any issue ;)

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Yep, it really feels like Captain Blood, especially the voice over

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Really good work, but super difficult! :)

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Hahaha "If your mouse is being a slag!" :D

Really innovative idea, it's well EastEnders.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Cool idea but really hard. Some hints or fewer options in the beginning would have helped me a lot. Loved the way the guy talked^^ Had a lot fun

netmute says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:35pm

The art is well done, but I found the overall experience rather confusing at first :)

(From a technical standpoint I find it rather interesting that you implemented a simple natural language processor here. Good job!)

local minimum says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:30pm

I felt like there were too many options to get an overview, however at the same time I would suspect you could fit them all into the screen so there's no need for scrolling? Maybe also only show those progressions that are valid question (hide or inactivate the nonsensical combinations). I think the pictogram way of communicating could be quite awesome if you work a little on it. I did retry quite a few times, so I take that as an indication of you having something good going.

TomboFry says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Had no idea what I was doing but the voice over was hilarious and the music was fun to dance to ;P It would probably help if there weren't so many options to choose from (or at least make there more/better responses)

dekart says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Haha, i love it! The art is awesome :)

loxo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:54pm

There is only one thing I don't like about the game, it's the one minute time limit. Otherwise it's one of the best games I played so far. Especially the audio is incredible.

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:30pm

This was fun, but quite difficult to understand how it works at the beginning. Funny graphics and nice idea.
I don't like the scrolling. All the buttons would have enough space on the screen at one, so why scrolling?

eskivor says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:51pm

I like it, I success to the mum then the walktrough was very useful. It could be more practical, I think, to have two or three lnes of icons with no scrolling, always available in the screen, than one line with scrolling

jomomomo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:34am

Nice! One suggestion might be a bit of a tree structure to limit the players options a bit, not every word makes sense in every circumstance...

HybridMind says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:38am

After feeling totally confused for a while I managed to get to the second character anyway. Couldn't figure out how to get past once they were swearing about a criminal. Strange way of interaction, not sure I've ever encountered an interface like that before.

mmickyman says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:54am

Nice concept, maybe without scrolling it could be more confortable to play with.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]