December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Game Of Life

by feizenbara - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A relaxing logical game based on the Conway's Game of Life (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conway's_Game_of_Life).

You must keep alive some cells in a cell culture where viruses appear from time to time. But you can only add 1 cell at a time to save them all.

The game features several customisation tools, allowing you to play in a very easy environment or even only watch your cells develop by themselves.

Note: some cell patterns can survive indefinitely, meaning sometimes the game has no end.

Detailed rules (you should try the game without reading this :-)):
- a cell stays alive if it has 2 or 3 neighbours. Otherwise, it dies.
- a cell appears in an empty spot if it has 3 neighbours.
- a virus spawns on the oldest cell after 5 turns where no virus was in the whole cell culture.
- a virus dies if it has no healthy neighbours.
- a virus spreads to its oldest neighbours if it has 3 or more healthy neighbours.
- you can only add 1 cell per turn.
- game ends if no more healthy cells are in the culture.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#450Innovation2.98
#499Graphics2.93
#616Overall2.86
#699Mood2.47
#720Audio1.78
#742Humor1.65
#851Theme2.20
#857Fun2.30

Comments

TheThirdOne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:04am

very well made, but too easy. On auto I haven't had it kill me and I have 3000 points.

vinull says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42am

Really nice graphics and I love the use of Conway's Game of Life.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:53am

Thanks for the feedbacks
@vinull: I'm happy that you life the simple look.
@TheThirdOne: you are right, I put mostly stable designs at start, and virus do not spread that much, so it's quite easy. I might add a customization tool to set the level of virality of the viruses.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:37am

The Game of Life has been my 'Hello World' when learning a new language for years. It's cool seeing a unique take on the game that's pretty fun, even if it is a little too easy. I think you should explore this idea a bit more and try and expand on it. Great work!

alcorrius says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44am

I liked how it is made but I didn't find it fun or interesting like a game. It's a good demonstration of Conway's Game of Life. But maybe I'm just not interested in Games of Life.
Anyway, nice game!

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26am

Nice idea! A bit too easy though but a good concept!

maxim says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43am

Bit confusing but a nice concept

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:08am

Nice Graphics and good concept to the game it felt weird but good.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:08am

Somebody elses game, remade, doesn't match the theme, did you even make this for LD? or was it just lieing around you thought you'd submit it?

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:15am

Well crockid5, it's not somebody elses game, go look on wikipedia, game of life is not even a game at first... I used the basic mecanism, but everything else that makes a game (you know, player inputs, win/lose conditions, feedbacks, audio, graphs...) comes from me, and was started from scratch on saturday.
The theme interpretation is "You only get 1 cell to save them all", and I agree it's not very straightforward... like almost every other entry here, because this theme sucked big time (well, it's not even a theme, it's just a random sentence that gives no restriction on the game).

But I think you should warn now Richard Garriot that Blizzard just stole and remade Ultima with WoW.

DST says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:55am

Really nice use of conways game of life, well implemented and nice looking, good job! :)

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:16pm

nice job, good graphics too :)

ponk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Very cool game !
Good application of conway's game of life
It give me ideas for my own entry (based also on automata cellular)

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:41pm

I thought I had found a way to beat the viruses but they came back; just like life. ;) Good job!

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:44pm

I didn't really get it. Couldn't figure out how and why cells appeared and disappeared, still fun to mess around with, though. Really nice graphics!

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Nice take on the game of life although I think in its current form its a little bit broken. The virae seem to have basically no influence on the game itself, for me it runs in auto mode up to several thousand points.

Idea:
Make the virae a lot more deadly, give the player the ability to set more than one cell per turn and disable hints.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Clever idea, I really like the execution and the graphics. Didn't get any sound even though I turned audio on though.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Right zorfmorf, I should have put a setting for making viruses more lethal.
I can't really allow player to put more than one cell, it's the theme of the LD.
And you can disable hints with the "Tips" auto button. I should have labelled it "hints" instead, but the wrong word came to my mind :-(

@others: thank you for the feedbacks, I'm really happy to see so many enjoying graphics, it was supposed to be my worst speciality but simple is neat :-)

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02pm

@Udell: what browser are you using? It works for me on Chrome, but maybe not elsewhere.

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:01pm

A classic !

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Nice version of the classic :)

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:33am

Look great and enjoyed experimenting with it.

Enneract says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:12am

The visuals were great.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:44pm

I feel it would be visually more appealing if the cells didn't animate.

Xavier says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Nice idea. Only I would change the typography: it's annoying me! :)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Very interesting puzzle game!
I did get a bit confused why cells appear and disappear between turns, perhaps the cells are moving around?
As it is right now it's very difficult to lose, but many people already mentioned that. The concept is very interesting though, and once it's balanced I'd love to try it again!

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:45am

Interesting take on a classic concept.

Trying to add cells to starve off viruses was tough to wrap my head around (since there are a lot of rules in play), yet I scored over 1500 points. I felt like I should have died far earlier than I did.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Nice application of the "game of life" concept.

Mlle Eole says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Nice and interesting. :)

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:12am

I really like the look, color pallet is great. Don't see the theme but good job on making a complete game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]