December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

ClockTower

by fued - Jam Entry

WSAD to move, mouse to fire


you only get one life, you only get one staircase per floor, you only get one chance to kill things easily, you only get one gun... lots of potential meanings, but the real one is revealed at the end.

so many things cut out because we ran outta time(extra weapons, pickups, iphone version, co-op,monsters,level layouts)

still happy with it, team did well.

code-fued
design-jared/simone
art-serene/brett
sound/music-jared

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#140Mood(Jam)3.30
#210Graphics(Jam)3.42
#249Audio(Jam)2.96
#299Theme(Jam)2.67
#374Overall(Jam)2.83
#431Fun(Jam)2.42
#496Innovation(Jam)2.13
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

cameron says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26pm

nice game with visuals but lots of glitches and i like the blinding of issic feel

Sim says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Fun little game, especially the last room. Controls were a bit floaty and I gave up killing enemies because they kept coming back, and I could avoid them easily. Would've been more interesting if the enemies were more dangerous, or the rooms had obstacles to limit my movement. Nice graphics too, and I liked the changing tilesets as you change floors.

fued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:24pm

uploading a new version with enemies which follow you between rooms, and a few of the bugs fixed :)

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Great lighting and mood, fun effort, pity about not getting to finish.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:16am

The mood is pretty cool, but there are some bug i encountered with the monsters but also the movement is way too slidy and the music doesn't loop. Nice work

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25am

Interesting, moody game. Bit repetitive as the rooms were mostly just the same but with more enemies. The movement could have been bit easier, and later on the game I am not sure if enemies even hurt me anymore, I could have sword running into them just killed them.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:30am

Unfortunately, the web version does not run on linux. I ran the game though wine, but got stuck on the main menu. Sorry!

romandtom says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33am

amm I haven't understood what am I suppose to do..
and then I got stuck(literally, I couldn't move).
but it looks nice

Valerien says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:46am

Hey there,

I like the procedural generation you put there. It makes it pleasant to retry the game.
However, the controls feels a bit unresponsive : the shot happens with a delay, and the character has a lot of inertia. I didn't go to the end of the game because of that.
Also, to me, it lacks one little fx and/or sound effect to indicate that the character has taken a hit.

Cheers,
Nathan

jjc180 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:02am

I really like the dark moody feel to the levels. The random levels are great and must have been a challenge. Shame about not finishing - some glitches

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:57am

It's not a bad game, but I didn't really enjoy this one much sadly, the movement was really slidey, and I wasn't really sure what I was doing.

zequack says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:43am

Controls are really a pain... the character drifts like a sportcar on ice :/

Graphisms are interesting, and there are some nice lighting effects though.

KeyMaster says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:58pm

The idea was really nice, but I really couldn't stand the controls. Way too slidy, made it kind of a fight against the game more than a fight against the enemies. Still had nice music and visuals.

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:47pm

The controls were pretty aggravating and felt unnatural. I liked the dungeon crawling aspect of it, and it was fun otherwise. I think the actual rooms could have different pitfalls or obstacles in the way.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]