December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Charcoal

by IonProgramming - Jam Entry

### IF GAME DOESN'T LOAD, MAKE SURE YOUR JAVA IS UP TO DATE (7u45) ###

Plot:

In charcoal, you play as an escaped prisoner trying to make his way out of the dungeons below a great and powerful castle.

You must avoid traps as you navigate through the maze of the dungeon walls, there is a catch though... You only have one torch...

One torch worth of light, that's all you get, so move quickly and carefully and try to escape.

There's a timer to help you stay on top of things, and a compass to give you an idea of where to head.

Good Luck!



Controls:

WSAD - Move around

M - Bring up minimap

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#171Theme(Jam)3.10
#328Overall(Jam)2.95
#329Mood(Jam)2.74
#351Audio(Jam)2.55
#386Graphics(Jam)2.76
#395Fun(Jam)2.52
#428Innovation(Jam)2.38
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:59am

Do you have a web version?

incobalt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09am

Sadly, the game crashes rather randomly (Windows 7). It could just be Java. I had it crash once near the beginning of the game and once later on (I saw the exit!).

nikev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:17am

Running the jar on win8 and it exits immediatly

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:18am

Solid concept, well executed. Really the biggest downfall is the sounds. The walk sound is like a robot, and the "creepy" sounds are a bit grating.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:35am

Nope, no web version. Planning to target web next time around. And these crashes are to to with some sort of memory leak in javafx (for sounds), Ill look into it and maybe fix it if I have time.

As for Win8, I'll take a look as to why that's happening...

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:42am

Updating Java to the latest version (7u45) fixes issues on win 8 for me...

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:48am

Sounds were kind of annoying, like the puzzle you had at the very beginning. Sadly crashed before I could complete it. I'd say this is rather decent, keep trying to improve.

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:21am

Pretty decent idea. Seemed to work fine. Enjoyable, looked nice, sounds were a bit funky, but didn't bother me.

scott64 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:46am

Good but since it required java 7 I had to run it on a slower computer (that had java 7 on it) which droped the frame rate.

kidder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:48am

I like the ambiance, with the sound and lighting. Brutally long maze, too. :)

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Sadly enough won't run on Win8

Nelien says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Doesn't want to run. Win8 64bit over here :(, tried a few things (compat settings etc., but nothing). Will check back in a while to see if there's a fix.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:47pm

If it doesn't load, run the jar and make sure java is up to date, worked with that on my win 8 machine

MadcoreTom says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:51am

GRATE game (see what i did there?)
I didnt manage to finish it (fell in a hole after wandering for ages). It is such a big maze, I would have liked a checkpoint, or doors that lock behind me, to limit my wandering. More variation in the tiles would have been nice too

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:48am

A little confusing, but I suck at puzzles so... :3
It's a nice concept and it's well done.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:32am

Nice. Not buggy, awesome sounds. The sounds are the best of all I think. It helps the mood really well.

Moosefly says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:28pm

The exe didn't work, but atleast the jar-file works. Or atleast it starts. The game did crash after playing for a while (I might've even been close to getting out!).

Walking down was tedious since I couldn't really see ahead of myself, but the game was pretty decent overall. I don't think the "spooky laugh" helped the mood though, just the ambient track (with rats and water drops or something) would've worked nicely imo.

Nice game overall, too bad it crashed.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]