December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Party of One

by Jan Marcano - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The town is being invaded by a horde of monsters. Use your party of heroes to protect it! However the evil wizard behind the invasion has cursed your party and they're all sharing the same body.

You can only choose one hero at a time to attack the incoming horde. Each hero has a different attack pattern that suits different situations.

~Use the mouse to select heroes and target monsters.
~Monsters advance after every attack.
~Every attack deals 1 damage.
~Starfish have 1HP and Shellman have 2HP.
~Monsters deal damage when they reach you.
~Starfish deal 1 damage and Shellman deal 3 damage.

=======================================================
Twitter: @AldianSolkai
Send me your highscores!
Current highscore: 44 by Jan [http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=31836] (We have the same name :D)
=======================================================

Privacy Notice:
I collect anonymous data from your playthroughs. It's only your score and a randomly assigned ID to know if you've played more than once without closing the game. Nothing is stored or retrieved on/from your computer.
(Dunno, felt like I should add this)

Update:
Made a small change to the way gameplay data is collected.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#106Innovation3.62
#114Fun3.52
#222Overall3.37
#342Audio2.81
#375Humor2.53
#399Graphics3.11
#426Mood2.88
#431Theme3.00

Comments

Conflei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:32am

hola jan <2

DallOner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53am

Estan Calidad las oleadas, mejora el Menu y quedaria mucho mejor.

henrykun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02am

Really liked the idea and graphics of the game.

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:20am

survived 24 rounds, awesome idea, made me think every round. but some rounds were pretty impossible to deal with. Like when there are two enemies in the bottom of a row, you would take one hit no matter what.
Other than that, great game, looking for it :D

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29am

Fun stuff.

squibbons says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:47am

Can make it to around round 29 currently. There is a lot of challenge in this game, which makes it a pretty fun concept.

glennbjr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Fun. I didn't make it as far as the others here so I won't say what round I made it to :p

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:13pm

26 was my best score :)

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Can't play windows games.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Nice fight system. I'd Like to implement it in a full game! :3

Jan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Yeah, survived round 44. Fun to play. :)

Riilu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Simple, fun, but rather difficult, i often felt like i was out of possible methods of saving myself, but it was fairly nice and interesting. Didn't really feel the theme though.

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:54am

Simple but hard. Interesting a good idea for the theme. I reach 26!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:53am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QKjyDLSUCK8
My first impressions on the game :D

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Really enjoyed this - round 32. Could see this being expanded into a pretty interesting puzzle game. Would have liked seeing and animation for the enemies advancing - it took me a while to realize that they moved up a block each turn, and that some enemies can take two hits of damage. Love the concept, though - excellent work!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:43am

Really liked the aesthetic and loved the idea!

bodsey says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:31pm

I'm not good at this, but the gameplay is clever, you should make it a full game indeed.

d__adee says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Nice one! I like the puzzle mechanic of the game :D Also my best is 29 xD

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:34am

All my scores were in the 34-39 range, never could break 40 though. Nice game.

zequack says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Nice survival game ! I like the concept :)

shard123 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Loved the unique game play and I found it really addicting.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]