December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Binary War

by Jogy34 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a long 1 ship fighting an entire 0 fleet. No coming back, you only get your single ship. There can only be 1's. Kill as many 0 ships as you can before you die. Good luck.

Controls:
W: Up
S: Down
A: Left
D: Down
SpaceBar: Shoot

There's a bullet counter in the top left corner.

Made in Java using my own open source game engine (link above)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#400Theme3.08
#492Humor2.26
#504Graphics2.92
#561Audio2.38
#650Mood2.55
#668Innovation2.64
#701Fun2.56
#754Overall2.69

Comments

Garrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:33am

Interesting take on the theme. When I first booted up the screen I got the intro and it tossed me right into the game, but when I died it sent me to the main menu? Just a little bug I noticed.

It's hard to kill enemies once they start firing, I can't really get a hit on them when they're firing so rapidly.

The background was a little distracting with the flashing.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

I like the binary theme, good idea :) Like Garrick, I had some trouble to kill enemies but it was cool to try to win ;)

syl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

azerty keyboard here :/
great game, reminds me a thomson compute game :)

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06am

Something different concerning the theme, really nice idea =)

It's really hard to see the enemies though (and their shots) because of the flashing background. And... it took me a while to "find" the button to restart (or actually start the game the first time :P)

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:23am

Pretty cool idea for the theme! And although things can be somewhat hard to see at times, overall I liked the graphics.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26am

Had to play this from the name, was hoping for cyberpunk goodness, but a interesting take on the theme. The music and sfx can get a little repetitive and the colours are a little blinding. just sitting in one row made it easy to game the system.

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30am

It was super hard to see and yet somehow I actually had a lot of fun. I was really hoping to not see a lot of the far too obvious "1 life" take on the theme, but I like that you incorporated it into the plot.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:43am

Wow, bit harsh on the eyes but, very cool!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Interesting theme, but the gameplay is a bit bland.

Eric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:24pm

I liked it but like most of the comments I thought it was kinda hard to kill the enemy's. Nice use of the theme

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:53am

That was awesome :). At first I thought the graphics would annoy me (the menu is a bit hard to read) but in the actual game it fit really well!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:54am

Well this was a cool game idea: like the 1's and 0's theme feel. The graphics where kind of hard for me like i sometimes couldn't see the enemy bullets because of the color. Also the game is kind of hard but it gets fun because of that. Great work n_n

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:24pm

The title screen is hard to make sense of, but the rest of the visuals fit the game's theme well. The game doesn't seem to really go anywhere, with just one enemy that keeps coming.

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Couldn't find the start button at first :)

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:36am

Nice game!! Well done! I included this in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 28 Compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/EG4kRkM_i_s

Seppel says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:42am

Huge hitbox makes baby Seppel cry. Contrast makes my eyes hard. Hardest part of the game was trying to find out where the start button was. I'd love this game if it were on Glorious Trainwrecks. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]