December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One

by Sylence - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You will get one hint in every level which of the three chests in the world is
the right one.
If you open the right one everything is good.
If you open one of the wrong chests the next level will be harder.

The game is over if you get killed by an enemy.

----------------------------------------------------

Was created using Visual Studio 2013, Paint.NET and sfrx
Uses the SharpDX toolkit (http://sharpdx.org)
Uses a simplex noise implementation written by Heikki Törmälä (https://code.google.com/p/simplexnoise/)


---------------------------------------------------
Requirements:
- Windows with DirectX 11 (so Vista or newer)
- A DirectX 9 capable graphics cards
- The .NET 4.0 Framework (should be preinstalled on your machine)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#386Humor2.50
#690Audio1.95
#706Fun2.55
#855Graphics2.16
#875Mood2.11
#879Theme2.11
#880Overall2.49
#902Innovation2.14

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:17am

Could use some knockback or something, its hard/impossible to kill an enemy without getting hurt. Didn't necessarily impede me though, and it was fun fleeing enemies.

Gas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21am

Nice game! really fun I loved the level design. would love it if you could rate mine! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=20784

granut100 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:30am

Great game! It was hard to attack the enemy.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:38pm

I liked the gameplay and graphics but the fighting mechanics need work :D

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Made it to Level 28 with 129 points. It took me a while to figure out the logic, but good puzzles. It looks like the level generation was random, and there was one level where it was impossible to get one of the chests (the mountains only left a one block high gap and you needed two to get through) so keep that in mind when building any future random level generators.

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Nice game. :) The hints were funny and I enjoyed killing them zombies.

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Interesting idea, avoiding the zombies seemed easy enough to just pick the first chest always. The game didn't really seem to get harder so I don't know if it end at some point. Some kind of goal would be nice.

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Level design idea is good as well as humor and hints. :)

Gerjj says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Nice little game - really enjoy the simplicity of it all! With buffed up graphics and animations this could be top class, nice work :)

zebi24 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:02am

Well done, I really enjoyed this one! Simple and relaxing game . Those hints made me laugh. :D Big like!

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:08am

Nice! A bit easy, but good!

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Fun idea! A little animation or background music would go a long way, though.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Cool game, I really like the idea and the sign texts ;) I think some small aminations would have made it even better. Good work!
(Couldn't get it to work on Win8.1, but works fine on Win7)

Sylence says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:19am

Hm strange. I wrote the game using Win 8.1

RodRoy1 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Good game, i dont know if i was picking the right chest or not though, a little propt would be nice. Ideas interesting, visuals are nice, sound fits. All and all i think its a nice game. 158 points btw :D.

Tomski says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:59am

Good job, fun stuff, pretty tough to hit em though

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]