December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Pew-Pew

by Charlie Hadden - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Barely finished, but it's late, I'm tired, and I won't get time to carry on working on it for the jam. Much like a typical bullet hell game, but you only get one hit point. I didn't get time to add any more patterns than what are already there, so it'll probably get very repetitive very quickly. Oh well.

Move with WASD, arrow keys, or the mouse.

Windows build I've been told works, and the linux build works for me, but your mileage may (probably will) vary.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#389Fun3.00
#603Overall2.88
#659Mood2.53
#805Theme2.30
#822Graphics2.21
#892Innovation2.17
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

sam1373 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:32pm

can't download it =/

Edd Morgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Worked great on Windows for me. Very fluid gamepay, nice use of colour. Could have used a little sound, maybe. Fun though

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Damn, that's very addictive. I'm glad to see that NOPE difficulty lives up to its name. No sound, unfortunately; this seems to be all fun, no bells/whistles. Not that I'm complaining :P
Doesn't much fit the theme, unfortunately.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51pm

sam1317, What's not working for you? The links all work fine for me.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Easy isn't very easy for me ><. Great job.

LewisChaplin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Great fun to play. did crash after a while but was playing for like 20 mins

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:37am

Nice entry.
Can I suggest to assign the restart key to a mouse button? :D

Donutttt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:47pm

It's funny that I've not seen this before - most bullet hell games make you press a key to shoot but there really isn't any need to. The graphics and gameplay were awesome and I probably replayed this more than any other game so far.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:50pm

It might be deconstructed and minimalist, but this is a nice take on bullet hell. A pity you didn't get any sound in there.

The theme? Only one hit point? Just like it should be!

And now I'm going back for another go.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:18pm

I've just uploaded new packages that fix a memory leak. That should solve the issues people have been having with it crashing after playing for a while.

Of course, as per the rules, that's the only thing the update changes.

Kaslai says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:54am

It's difficult at times to cope with the constantly changing background color, but it was fun. I was really hoping that 'Nope' was a difficulty and not a button that closed the game. I was not disappointed. Thank you.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:44am

Nice little bullet hell. It does need more variety. The inputs seem to lag sometimes.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:24am

addictive, i like thiss

tobbez says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:22am

Would be nice with a boss or some goal other than score. More enemies would be nice also and some mechanic other than randomspawning.

SamH says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:45pm

The collisions are very frustrating, sometimes the bullet is just sliding on my side but I still die. Maybe they could be made slightly more forgiving? Just one more pixel maybe? :)

Apart from that, it’s nice. Fun, minimalist and addictive.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:58pm

I really liked the simplicity of this game. Could have used some audio.

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:24am

I liked the minimal controls but the lagging input was annoying.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]