December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Button

by Gemberkoekje - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dear [TODO: Insert name of vict - err - brave pilot here],

You have been selected for our space program. You will bravely pilot a vessel to the stars, and science programs on board will get us the necessary funding.

Unfortunately, due to budget cuts etcetera, we have been forced into a compromise: You only get one button.

We also got a note from 'The Programmer' - whoever that is - so we thought it important to include this too:

Unfortunately, I only had 1 day of about 8 hours, and I overestimated a tad what I could do in that time. Again. So the result is a fairly reasonable sort-of flight simulator... aaand... that's about it. There is a basic scoring system, so please post your scores anyway :)

Time permitting, I'll do a post-compo version with all features:
- Menus which will highlight options automatically, where you need to use The Button to select them
- Upgrades, paid by earlier mentioned 'score' (Which I'll probably rename 'Money' then)
- Better flight, with more lift, more drag, and better textures.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#564Theme2.75
#702Graphics2.52
#763Fun2.46
#846Overall2.54
#847Innovation2.29
#911Mood1.82
#998Coolness48%

Comments

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:04am

It was really fun to experiment with each of the variables and see how it affected the flight.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40am

I like how well the physics work in this game.

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:21am

It was okay, fun to see how far you can get!

explosivose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:45am

I scored 828!

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:59pm

The best I got was about 200+. Would have been better if there was some prompt to the player once the rocket lands, a simple "Try again!" would have better pulled it together as a full game.

Had fun with it still!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:03pm

@kyyrma you can press The Button to try again.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Nice quick game! That's all I have to say!

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Nice little game. Had fun playing it. :) Needs sounds tho!

occash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Physics is very good, but i don't see the theme of the competition, but overall it's good!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:59pm

@occash I wanted to pull the one button idea through to the menus and everything, so then it'd made more sense (and be funny and annoying!) You'll see when I get time for the post-compo version!

lparker says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:15am

Quite enjoyed the game, tinkering with the bits to see how far I would get was fun as well.

Raphy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Nice experiment, too bad there isn't any clear goal though. Got 980 score :)

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Thanks for the nice compliments all, I'll try to find the time to flesh this out a bit more, make it look better, and chuck it on Android store or something!

local minimum says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:04pm

It would have been awesome if you were able to reach space, maybe you are, but it didn't seem like it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]