December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Can you hear me?

by Jago - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Can you hear me? is a game where get only one of your senses: hearing. You are in a place and there's another person speaking to you. Find that person.

The game is just a black screen. Use arrow keys to move around. You hear footsteps when you are moving so that when you don't you know you've hit a wall. TO CLARIFY: When the game starts there is no sound or visuals. Just start walking with arrow keys and you should hear something.

The game is best played with headphones on or with surround speakers. I've only tested with crappy headphones.

There is a bug in the end that causes one sound to keep playing after the game has finished.

Probably only works on latest version of Chrome and on Firefox nightly builds! This due to the use of experimental Web Audio API.

This is my first time attending LudumDare and it was kind of unplanned. That's why I got started in the evening of day one, went to sleep and finished of today. Nowhere near 48 hours used.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#52Innovation3.82
#189Audio3.14
#403Theme3.07
#483Mood2.78
#846Overall2.54
#876Fun2.26

Comments

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Cool concept (I'm actually working on a game with the same "hearing only" premise myself!) but it's not working for me in Firefox.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:21pm

I don't hear anything under chrome :(

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:24pm

no sound on Firefox/Windows

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Interesting concept to play with, though I quickly got lost. For those having problems, it worked for me, just press the arrow keys to walk around.

LukeR says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Doesnt Work

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:36pm

In Chrome on Ubuntu nothing happens. In the console I get "Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'NaN' of undefined map.js:2".

Kane says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Really fun idea and fun to play too ! I like it :)
but sometime the sound was just totally missing, I think a possibility of switching between "visual" sound (like shockwave or something like that) and audio can be interesting! Great job !

Jago says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Forgot to mention that due to the use of Web Audio API only latest Chrome and Firefox nightlies are supported. The "Uncaught TypeError" shouldn't matter. At least for me it didn't. I only had time to test on Chrome.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Nice idea. I think I hita dead end(?) several times.

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Not loading for me at all sadly :( But I was trying to load it in Opera, so may be the reason.

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:44pm

I've got a black screen in Chrome on Linux. No sound or visuals.

Jago says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Well, there shouldn't be any visuals. You don't have vision after all. Use arrow keys to walk around. You should hear footsteps.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Wow, what a cool game! So hard though, haha. What was that hissing supposed to be?

Jago says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Don't ask me! ;) I'll leave everything to your own interpretation.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Really inventive and interesting to play. I've always wanted to see a "hearing only" game.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Same, nothing in either browser. Ubuntu.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Nothing :V I want to hear but it's got no go :V

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:53am

Check the developer console. Do you get error saying AudioContext is not supported? If so, your browser doesn't support Web Audio API. It seems like Ubuntu version of Chrome has problems with this. =(

darwinpek says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:39pm

I couldn't find the person :( Pretty hard game, but a very interesting concept.

I heard him say "Thank god you're here, I don't know how long I've been stuck down here", or something along those lines.

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:45pm

That is actually quite early in the game. =D The logic of this other person is quite fuzzy. Lack of time makes great plots, haha.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Wow, awesome experience!
This is best player with closed eyes. This kind of lets me think about, how blind people are experiencing the world.
Really great work!

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Simple but effective, not knowing what the sounds mean adds a lot to the atmosphere! You can't help wondering what must have happened. I couldn't beat it (and I can't really identify the direction of the sound, but my earphones are very bad). Somehow similar to my own game!

Jerre says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:06pm

sadly cannot get it to work, was very curious

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:28pm

@StMatn
Yes, playing eyes closed is my favourite too!

@lilinx
It is quite hard to identify the directions. Had no time to tweak the panning system. I think it would be easier with a surround system so that you could hear the front/back difference. Your game seems great! Definitely going to check it out when I get a chance.

@Jerre
Any error messages in the console? What browser?

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Game isn't loading for me sadly - I've tried in Chrome, Explorer and Mozilla.

In regard of my game "You only get one Earth", thanks for playing - I've added control tutorial at the top of my entry, hope it will work!

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Any error messages in the console? Thanks, I'll check it out again when I have time. =)

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:48am

Couldn't finish it, stumbled into a dead end. Interesting experience. Maybe you could consider having some noise right at the beginning just so people know it loaded.

Tanser says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Interesting for sure. Good job. :)

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Nice idea, but after exploring the world a bit, being quite systematic, I got the feeling that it was quite the big place. Such that more auditory queues would have been needed to help (e.g. maybe a resonating sound effect depending on the size of the current room).

Jago says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:39pm

The map is mostly just corridors, only one or two rooms. But you're right, there should've been more sounds and marker but I didn't have time to do them, unfortunately. =(

Shigor says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:24pm

No, I can't hear anything (chrome, windows)

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Good concept! But it's very hard!

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:58am

Nice idea, but I found there were not enough clues to make sense of it so I was just 'guessing in the dark' and although I tried for quite a long time I didn't feel I'd progressed at all so I just became bored and stopped playing. Sorry :/

Good work though for your first LD especially when you used a lot less than 48 hours!

jimmypaulin says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Love the idea, the sounds were superbly immersive, but it was too hard - felt very lost and not obviously able to locate to sounds / when I did nothing happened that helped me feel I was on the right track. Love the concept though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]