December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Adventures

by Rialgar - Jam Entry

You control a fighter in space and destroy practice targets, enemy fighters and asteroids to reclaim a lost sector.

Made by me and xeno42alpha (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/xeno42alpha/).

I did most of the code and xeno did most of the graphics.

Tested in Chrome and Firefox, should run in any modern browser.

Backgrounds based on images from NASA.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#206Graphics(Jam)3.43
#384Fun(Jam)2.55
#387Mood(Jam)2.57
#419Overall(Jam)2.71
#436Innovation(Jam)2.35
#534Theme(Jam)1.71
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Lyje says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Solid mechanically, but needs further development. Not sure where the theme is implemented though!

Thommy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:08pm

addictive gameplay but I think the hitboxes of the asteroids are too big.

01rafael says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:16am

Too hard

CatskullTeam says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:08am

Good game

ezolotko says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:40am

Cool and moody

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:16am

Couldn’t see the theme, but a good asteriods-esque game!

Jedi says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:46pm

I didn't feel like I had enough control of my ship to want to go finding targets through asteroids. I really liked the graphics and HUD style, though.

Peni6 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:02am

Once you lose track of the objects it's damn near impossible to find them again.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:10am

Impressive game i like the graphics but some sound could have been added! the movement is kind of hard (well for me i guess xD) but is fun! Great work :D

van noctar says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:14am

Good graphics! Very good management of physic! Good work

Xaychru04 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Really nice game, the movement is a bit too "slippery", and the hitboxes are a bit too big, but on the overall I enjoyed it. Good job, I like this mood!

Dry Tree says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Nice graphics and good controls (though a bit slow). However, I couldn't see the theme in this?

Novodantis says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Agree with most of the points raised by other players, but I really liked the feel of this game!

Poxymyr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:03pm

The game is way too hard imo. The recoil from hitting an asteroid is too damn high and i cant navigate properly. Also, locating green circles amongst grey circles on the radar is hard for me ._.

drludos says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:41pm

I've tried it, and I got "Warning; Unresponsive script" warning, so unfortunately I couldn't play it (I didn't rated your game of course, just posting a comment to report this).

I'm using FireFox / Windows XP / Quite old computer (about 8 years old I guess - so maybe it's too slow for your game, although I didn't had any problem to play all the other HTML5 games I've tried here)

Rialgar says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Just in case anyone looks for answers:
@all who missed the theme: You get only one emergency beamout, is it not very prominent, though.
@Poxymyr: sorry about that, we had a feeling we should vary the colors more, but alas, time was running, so we skipped it.
@drludos: We are not quite sure what happened. There is some setup work for each level, maybe that was too much. The first levels shouldn't do much otherwise. In later levels some poorly optimized physics and AI might be too heavy.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]