December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Recursive Loop

by Jean Phenix - Jam Entry

A game, slightly contemplative, about curiosity and exploration ... but you only get one minute to do it.

Also, made in a day.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#438Theme(Jam)2.25
#445Humor(Jam)1.25
#487Innovation(Jam)2.20
#504Mood(Jam)1.68
#544Graphics(Jam)1.40
#551Fun(Jam)1.35
#553Overall(Jam)1.57
#1305Coolness39%

Comments

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:39am

Not really sure what I was supposed to do. I chased around the orange 1 in a forest of green ls. I think the thing on the top is a timer in binary? Sometimes the ls disappeared. One time, I chased a 1 into the blue circle and it disappeared.

ehtd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41am

Chased orange numbers, nothing really happened....

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:17am

Nice Graphics, I like the "1"s moving around

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Unless I am missing a crucial gameplay element, I feel like this game is aiming for a style similar to Proteus. The problem is that there isn't enough spontaneity or atmosphere to immerse the player.

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:29pm

I think I need some instructions. :S

Jean Phenix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Yes, the game is aiming for a style similar to proteus. In previous version of the game, the green 1s grew and reproduced a lot faster, and it was nicer (in my view at least). You really felt in a living world, and the yellow 1s (who are suppose to eat little green 1s) were all excited. The thing is, it was laggy a few minutes after the game start because too much things were going on at the same time. I did my best to prevent lag and so the game is a little bit boring.

For those who want instruction, the game is about discovering thing about how the world work (and there is things I haven't talk about), so any instruction is kind of a spoiler. One thing I can say, there is something to do, and there is an end.

I'm conscious that the game isn't very fun to play, but I didn't have much time this week end and it was fun to make.

supremefist says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:54am

I was also confused about what was going on, but thanks for sharing this experience :)

x70x says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:01pm

I really like contemplative exploration games, but unfortunately I just don't think there was enough here to inspire me to explore. Movement speed being so slow was the most frustrating. I like the idea of an exploration game with such abstract graphics though.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Didn't know what to expect from this. Explored the '1' scattered for a while. I think it needs more work.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:37am

I read your description well enough to know what this was about, it's strangely contemplative indeed, the world conjures images in imagination. I found the end :)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Contemplative.. nice :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]