December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

lights out

by Waterman7 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one bullet. You only get one light.
You only get one ally in need of your protection.
Danger lurks in the shadows.

EDIT:
Thanks for all the feedback so far! I guess some more explanation is needed, so here we go:

- Charge your shot by holding down the left mouse button, shoot by releasing it. A faster bullet deals more damage.
- The blue cross guy is NOT your enemy; he heals you when close enough to you. Leeches will try to kill him.
- The goal is to collect as many yellow orbs as possible before dying. They will spawn at random positions, so always keep moving.
- More leeches are spawned as you collect orbs.
- There is a way to feed your ally, so he grows stronger.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#76Theme3.73
#185Innovation3.43
#198Mood3.27
#224Graphics3.52
#238Overall3.34
#313Fun3.16
#538Humor2.15
#782Audio1.32

Comments

benedict says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53am

This is a good jam entry! I liked a lot of things about it. The mechanic is nice, and there's a definite tension while you're lurking about the maze.

The things that I had trouble with were that I could never find more than one orb in every play-through. Killing the monsters was also a little frustrating. When I had a fully charged shot I felt like I was penalized for hitting the enemy because first they wouldn't die, and second my bullet would go way far away most of the time. The AI was also frustrating when they would camp on the bullet after you missed a shot. It'd be great if there were a way to lure the enemy away from the bullet so you could sweep in, reclaim the bullet, and then kill the enemy.

Anyways, this is a great entry. Congrats on finishing!

renewable69 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27pm

The ideas great, and the graphics are really nice, keep it simple usually works. Would be good with some sound though.

Sheep says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:38am

The game was a bit slow, but besides that it's a nice concept, and a fun game.

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Nice job

Alexbrainbox says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:37pm

I enjoyed this entry a lot. Not many games run smoothly on my poor ol'e laptop, so props for that ;)

I like how the game feels quite well polished and sets a good atmosphere. Some people say it was slow, but I like the pacing of it personally. Improvements might include some sounds or possibly more detailing in the world. props!

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Its a small detail but I really liked the way you presented your menus. Nice amount of polish. Also liked picking back up my one bullet. Good job!

lantto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Great mechanics and visuals. Took a while before I understood that you could charge your shots but after that it was very fun to hunt down and kill the enemies. I would love to see levels or some kind of progress.

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:18am

I liked the idea, though I wasn't quite sure what was friend and what was foe. Killing the leeches was difficult, but I don't think unfair. A good game.

Nichii says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Great concept, nice game. If you can fix the frustrating AI and actually make the first level easier so that first timers can learn how to play even more complex levels.

Alink says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Impressive number of new good mechanics in that one bullet idea: giving more light when fired, the charged shoot (almost didn't notice it), the bouncing, the enemy trying to catch the bullet instead of you. Also visually well done.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:14am

I really liked the visual tone set by this game, and the mechanics were mostly smooth and fun to play. However, I had a pretty hard time figuring out how to fight the monsters, and what the yellow dust-stuff was. Some additional instructions would have been great; but this is a solid entry!

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Neat game! Have you tried ours? It's got some very similar concepts, you'll see what I mean ;).

Once I read your instructions everything was clear, I wish there was sound though, and your ally got stuck a lot on walls so I had to escort him, which is a bit frustrating. But overall a great little game!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Awesome stuff, feels very polished. I too didn't realise I could charge my shot for the first few mins, but fun nonetheless :D

Diptoman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:55pm

This was a great idea, with so much incorporated into that one bullet, it's a source of light as well as a weapon. My ally almost always got killed, and it was hard to retrieve the bullet since the leeches got attracted to it, so had a hard time there. But the graphics and all were really polished, just needed some sound!

lasergans says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Great idea! is fun too play. Has to potential to be brought further!

psc1997 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Good idea ;)
When there is more enemies the game is harder ;)
I like game mood, but may includes some sounds ;)

joekinley says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Uh very intriguing lighting thingy. The title screen already with the lighting was brilliant. So was the game.
It was unfortunately too hard to figure out how to kill these leeches. I am in fact still not a hundred percent sure how I did it, and what the difference between the red and the blue ones was, but it was quite a nice experience.
Pitty there was no audio at all, could have been a quite immersive little game.
Good job though, I liked it a lot.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Fun game, better more engaging then I thought! Good, that you posted more explanations, they were needed!

KEFIR says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I really like this simple art style! Really nice concept. I think you should add more action and make full game of it!

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Good Game, liked the idea!

tklovert says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:57am

Good work using multiple of the obvious YOGO's. I get sick of YOGO life/bullet by themselves, but they work together well.

The look of the game was really amazing.

The only problem I had was in conveyance. I couldn't tell anything at all about the game without reading the instructions. I know that sounds stupid, but some things could have been a bit more apparent via coloring schemes and maybe a few in game instructions.

Either way, this is a strong entry.

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:48am

I really like this concept. I would have liked to see more life for your ally though, especially as he doesn't run away on his own. He dies a bit too easily I feel. Give this game some sound and music and some progression with levels and/or more enemy types, and you've got a very nice webgame with a possibility for a wide appeal!

stefan says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:08am

I like this game: it is fun to play and the graphics are very nice. It feels and looks very polished. For future versions you may include sound and some more levels, that would be great :)

euske says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:41am

I can't download. It says "forbidden, 403" :/

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:12pm

I like the atmosphere. Very interesting gameplay. It's a bit annoying that you friends follow that slow and sometimes stuck at the corners, but protecting them and feeding them with the particles was fun. The light leeching mechanic is a very interesting concept, especially that enemies try to catch the bullets!

yapshuter63 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Cool! Somehow, without graphics, this game managed to be atmospheric...

pl0xz0rz says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Good jam entry! YOGO bullet that doesn't feel like a cheap take on the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]