December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Duck Kid's Quest

by Daikon-Console - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello! Oh wow, this is my first time entering Ludum Dare! :D I've dreamt of joining since 2010 and I'm glad to be apart of it this year! Okay, enough about me here's some info on the game:

ABOUT GAMEPLAY::
----------------
There are 2 possible endings to this game! The endings can be seen as good or bad depending on your view of them :) This game is more of an parody intro (and anti-intro) to an RPG like game... It's pretty short because I wanted to just touch on the intro of RPG like games...! :D
----------------------------------------------------------

This was made with Scricca Construct 2 (r78)!
It works best on Google Chrome!
This is the second(or third) game I've ever made! (Talking about myself again pfft)
This is the FIRST executable game I've made! (Man, I'm being real narcissistic today..)
It does have sound (one sfx) so do watch the volume! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1571Coolness22%

Comments

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:24am

Is it just getting out of the bedroom? Good start, it's pretty funny so far.

murilo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:49pm

I don't get it. I clicked(and pressed keys) everywhere in the room like there's no tomorrow and couldn't do anything. I played the web version. The graphics are nice! I Hope to come back and figure it out so I can rate it.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Well.. It certainly got me curious for more! What about the world? Where did the wizard come from? What are the evils we must defeat? HOW COULD HE LEAVE THE ROOM WITHOUT THE DUCK!!?

Ah, well, I guess I'll have to wait for part 2...

joekinley says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:46am

Gosh that sound really got me. It was loud.
The story is quite nice, but WHY DID IT HAVE TO END SO SOON? Like, you really got me going to play it, and then that was it? Naaaaaaaaah.

I liked the graphics. Cool work on that. Also congratulations on your first working entry. You catch on the theme was nice and all, but it just ended too soooooon.
Quite fun. Good work.

afterisk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:03am

very cool, i wish it was longer :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:38am

I like the story but it ends too soon! I also like the graphics, good work!

But as Nelien says: HOW COULD HE LEAVE THE ROOM WITHOUT THE DUCK!!? :O

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:15pm

A good start

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:24am

I like what you've done so far, but it feels very incomplete. I didn't feel much tie to the theme, but perhaps it would be more prevalent later in the story. Cute art style.

FYI, r78 is WAY out of date. Current stable release is r152, which is infinitely more useful.

larb says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:43am

Cool graphics. I wish there was more.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Nice sketchy pixel art style in this. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]