December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Do androids dream of freedom?

by BlackPoison - Jam Entry

Black Poison Studios - Novo Hamburgo - RS - Brazil
Ben-Hur G. Villar - Programmer
Emily Costa - Artist
Luciana S. Meyrer - Artist
Rafael Lucena - Audio and Game Design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#124Mood(Jam)3.36
#184Graphics(Jam)3.52
#285Audio(Jam)2.80
#305Fun(Jam)2.76
#326Overall(Jam)2.96
#420Innovation(Jam)2.40
#512Theme(Jam)1.92
#998Coolness48%

Comments

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:58am

Not bad! Would be cool to see which cards you have collected, I got a bit confused wether I had just picked up a yellow or an orange one, I was too focused on not being detected. ;)

BlackPoison says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:24am

Thanks for the feedback Crabman! To show the collected cards was one of our goals, as well as having another colored card/door. Unfortunatelly because of the short time, we didn't get to do it (our little experience making a game this fast was in the way too haha). But thank you again for having played it and for the feedback! - Black Poison Studios

GrinCreative says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:18am

Caras, ficou bem legal!
Infelizmente o Ben-Hur é horrível na programação :'(
Continuem ele! Ficará legal :D

Folks, it's really nice!
Unfortunatly it have some programming issues :'(
Keep it! Will be cool :D

- Lacco.

Nut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:24am

This was a neat little stealth game, though I don't see what it has to do with the theme. I accidentally pressed space and skipped what I think was the ending so maybe I missed something.

BlackPoison says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:30am

HAHA Lacco, o Ben Hur foi bem na programação, o flash que trolou demais e como não estamos acostumados com esse curto periodo de tempo acabou faltando algumas coisas e uns concertos de bugs, mas valew o/

BlackPoison says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:36am

Hey Nut, thanks for playing our game! This was our fist game in a Jam like this, and the game is missing some features, one of them is that you would only get one item at a time! We had some problems using flash, and instead of not uploading the game, we decided to let people play it, even missing some features. But again, thanks for playing and giving us your feedback!

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:52pm

space for retry didn't work for me

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:00pm

I like the shadow effect. Nice mood!

BlackPoison says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Hi SilentBunny, thanks for playing our game and giving us your feedback, this is one of the bugs that we have in our game, for some reason in the programmers computer it was working and now it isn't., if you want to play again without reopening the game just use CTRL-R. Again thanks for playing!

BlackPoison says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Hello wdebowicz! Thank you for playing and sharing your feedback! We are glad that you liked the shadow effect and the mood of the game! There's still some ideas that didn't appear in the final game, but we are glad that you like it! Thanks!

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:26pm

I can't retry after I die, but the game itself was fun. :)

BlackPoison says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:12am

Hey Faust! Thanks for playing our game and giving us your feedback! We are aware of that error, but we are making a new version of the game fixing some of the bugs and maybe adding some other stuffs that were planned. Hope you play it again! Thanks o/

Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:44pm

nice, i like it...nice mood...one bug - when you exit area and come back immediately enemies positions are back to original state

BlackPoison says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:52pm

hello JacksGamesSucks! Thanks for playing and to comment! The enemies back to the original state is on purpose to be possible to go back and forth every time you switch rooms. It is part of the level design. :)

FrederickK says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:52pm

What I didn't like is that the character is a little too slow and the shadow didn't needed to fully cover the character, makes it a little difficult to move in them.
But apart from that, I really enjoyed! It reminded me of the metal gears from snes.
I liked the character designs and music.
Good work! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]