December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Seedling

by Spacefarmer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Keep your seedling alive by summoning the elements with Rain and Sun dances. The larger your tree grows the more followers you will get, the more followers the more fruit you will need to harvest at the end of the seasons. Leaves will appear once you have branches and they will turn into Fruit that can be harvested.

W- Rain dance
S- Sun dance
H- Harvest the red fruit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#378Innovation3.07
#611Mood2.61
#788Theme2.36
#923Graphics1.96
#945Overall2.32
#972Fun1.89

Comments

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22am

I like your clouds :)

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Hm. I think the issue with the game is a lack of feedback to the player. when I was doing the rain dance I didn't see any rain, so I thought it was broken.
Then suddenly the tree grew, and I figured it worked afterall, called on the sun to test that.
Sun did nothing, so again I called rain. And then I lost the game. :(

I love the idea, It's got a populous sort of appeal, god game trying to get your groove on and grow a world tree type deal. But Yeah, feedback to players is important.

sprawl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:33pm

I'm not certain how my actions are influencing the game. I'm also not too sure if they sky changing color is only a night/day cycle or If it indicates something.

Otherwise, the concept is great. Good job.

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34pm

good game but really needs some feedback to the player

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:36pm

As others said, more visual cues would be a bonus, like the sun casting rays when the sun dance was a success, or the clouds slowing down over the tree and raining when the rain dance succeeds. Interesting concept though!

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:57pm

haha, i almost got 4 branches. Harvested like 10 fruits. Highscore!

acp_ld says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:52pm

I liked the idea but the execution needed some work. The player has almost no feedback as to what is going on. I assume the different "vibrations" are the different dances but since nothing happens when I press the buttons I have no idea if the controls are working.

I think despite just being outline blocks the graphics work perfectly for this game.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Original concept, and I ended up getting quite involved in the fate of the tree. It got a bit boring after a while, though.

It would be interesting if you made a post-compo version with more elaborate follower sprites (and dances). However, I really like what you've done with the daytime and seasonal changes, and the rain cloud is great.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:34am

I like the concept. The game needs some improvement and tutorial on how the mechanic works, since I'm a bit confused when playing it for the first time.

bach says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Interesting concept - but yea this needs more feedback to the player.. It's very difficult to decipher what's happening!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]