December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

BULLETS ARE FATAL

by pele - Jam Entry

You Only Get One HIT POINT!! Yikes!

Recommended use of gamepad (if possible). Also recommended switching to fullscreen if playing in Web (right-click > Go Fullscreen)

(Press down to drop from platforms.)


Team:
Lucas Pelegrineti (Art)
Lucas Ribeiro (Art)
Pedro Boechat (Programming)
Peter Dam (Programming)

** Unity currently only offer official support for Ubuntu Linux, version 10.10 or later. However, users are happily running games on a very wide range of linux distributions, including Arch Linux, Gentoo, Debian, and others. (source: http://blogs.unity3d.com/2012/11/22/linux-publishing-in-unity-4-0/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#12Graphics(Jam)4.57
#19Audio(Jam)3.96
#87Mood(Jam)3.53
#116Humor(Jam)3.08
#119Overall(Jam)3.46
#141Fun(Jam)3.23
#183Theme(Jam)3.08
#261Innovation(Jam)2.86

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:34am

Art style, composition, characters are very beautiful and overall graphical quality is very good. Controls are a bit funky, though. Couldn't get the connection to the theme?

zebi24 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:13am

I love the graphics and gameplay style! Very hard tho, that 1 hit kill is brutal. :)

Venturelli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:35pm

I really like the style, the use of the theme and the randomly-generated levels, but the controls are pretty weird and it looks like perhaps your team bit more than they could chew in 72 hours, there are lots of bugs, animation issues, balance issues, etc. Overall a pretty solid entry, congratulations! \o/

DamnPete says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Perfect, Venturelli... We did bite more than ew could chew and had to cut and re-adapt several things. The controls didn't get a refinement pass, I recommend using a Gamepad, it works much better than keyboard+mouse, unfortunately. Also we didn't have time to properly implement some gameplay features, so some things are indeed quite buggy.

Windwalkerranger, the connection to the theme is that you only have 1 hit point, so you have do dodge every single bullet or else you die...

occash says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:37pm

It's very good! I like this graphics so much!!! Very interesting game!

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:23pm

The graphics and sound are really great, but controlls need a bit of practice.
The unforgiving one hit rule is ok for me, but it kind of breaks the experience if an enemy spawns right in front of you and shoots a bullet in your face :(
Its a bit strange, that rooms spawn in the air, but the procedural levels are really cool!
Great work!

vapgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Great graphics and animation, but gameplay is very unfinished.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Echoing everyone else I think, graphics and sound seem amazing, but I really struggled to actually play the thing because of the controls. I will come back to see if it gets updated :)

Katamori says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Missing link.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Owww :( The Screenshots are looking great but there is no game in your Dropbox.

Error msg: Error (404)
We can't find the page you're looking for. Check out our Help Center and forums for help, or head back to home.

But I will rate for graphics, because the screens are nice :)

pele says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Fixed the problem with the links. Thank you for pointing it out!

pboechat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Ops! Sorry, pals! Broken link problem fixed! Thanks for the feedback :)

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:55pm

This game has a lot of potential, as long as the bugs get ironed out. When I was playing, I often got confused as to which surfaces I could jump through (the wooden catwalks were particularly pernicious). I would make sure that it is very clear where what objects you can pass through, and what objects you can't. It's fun to play, but frustrating to die because of something I didn't intend. I would also like to see the jumping and movement physics tweaked a little. Right now, the keyboard controls feel sluggish (I haven't tested it on a controller, but I assume it's probably better on that). Other than those few things, I think it's a great game! I loved the music. Short and sweet. I must've played at least 10 rounds.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:21am

Beautiful artwork, really cool game; controls are a little difficult; will try with gamepad later.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:13am

Really cool game! The art style and music went together so well, and they were both super cool. Maybe work on the difficulty some more, and then it'll be a pretty good game. Nice work!

CNIAngel says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:40am

Fun game overall. I kinda wish I could have shot directly up. Still, it was an enjoyable experience.

aneeslol says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:15am

Amazing graphics and music, genuinely fun gameplay. Very impressive!

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:34am

Amazing graphics and overall game design. This really looks like it has the potential for a retail release if you did a bit more playtesting and polishing. Very cool entry.

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:53am

Nice procedurally-generated maps! I want to wander around and see how far it extends, but I'm constantly fearing for my one HP life. I'd love to see a post-compo version of this with better jumping mechanics.

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Really like the way tension builds up while playing and that you always need to pay attention. Sometimes there seem to be glitches with the engine resulting in getting stuck while falling through platforms and such but overall a great game.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:29pm

great visuals. I like the mashup of 2D and 3D. the sound was amazing too :) 5 stars overall :D

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Art is beautiful; the animations are perfect, the designs are very well done. I'm sad about the downscaling and the clipping that happened mid-way though :( Hope you can reupload a post-compo with the proper assets!

Gameplay-wise it's neat; hard enough to make it a challenge but still doable :D The music totally fits the game and the mood overall is completely western :)

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:19pm

The graphics and music are way cool! But it's too hard for me. Probably better controls can improve the overall experience.

Dohan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Very cool game and nice art. But it's really hard!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:00am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FmBD-Uin8cI
My first impressions on the game :)

Deity says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:44am

Excellent graphics and audio. Controls were pretty bad (or I was doing something wrong) -- it seems you can't even shoot left?

pele says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:41am

Hey Deity. Yes, we didn't have time to fine-tune the controls for the Jam, but we will put up a post-compo version soon, we have greatly improved the controls. You can shoot in either direction though, if you were using the mouse you just need point in the direction you want to shoot. If you were using the gamepad, the right analog stick does the aiming.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Aww, one hp was hard. Though bullets moved slower than usual, dodging was difficult since they kept bouncing around. And oh, I loved being able to kill enemies higher up by shooting at the ground! And spawning as different characters in different places each time was cool. The combination of 2D sprites and 3D levels was pretty effective, so some great gfx there. Some bugs were there, like being able to shoot through walls if you gun went through it(and getting shot through walls this way). Then there were some jumping bugs with the rocky platforms.
But overall, a very good entry!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Really loved the graphics and how we get different levels each time, but the controls could use a bit more polish, and if the bullets stood out more (brighter or something), it would have been easier to dodge.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:01pm

the mix of pixart and 3D render is surprising, the controls are akward also.
I liked the look of the character tought and the overall mood.
The game looks way too difficult, i understand the one life thing to respect the theme, but due to that replaying the game isn't comfortable.
Checkpoints would be a great way to help the player finish the game.

DamPete says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:37pm

I think the major problem is the controls are a bit unfinished, which adds to difficulty. Also, like Arkrothe said, the bullets aren't as visible as we wish they were. The post-compo version has fixed most of these issues, introducing new features as well, we are currently working on polishing the game better, I'm not sure though if we should already post it for you guys to get a feel of what's going on or wait for a bit more polishing. Your feedback does help us a lot in tweaking the mechanics though... Gotta discuss with the team the best moment to officially publish our post-compo.

DamPete says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:39pm

In the post-compo we have included motion trail for bullets, which greatly improves their visibility, you can check that out on the gameplay video that we provided. :)

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:09pm

I love the graphical style! Good work.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Reminds me Showdown Effect.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:03am

Great work on visual part, the game is an eye candy :) Platform physics was somewhat buggy though - sometimes the character appeared floating when passing through several platforms during a jump.

Knighty says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:40am

Great music and graphics, and pretty difficult. The enemies are so mean. They just suddenly fall out of the sky and shoot you without giving you any time to react.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:21pm

It's easy to loose, but I like the idea and graphics :)

van noctar says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:03am

Wahouuuuuuuu!! Graphics and sounds are amazing!! Very good job!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:21am

WOW, a lot of potential.
Just, like was said, the controls were what killed here.
Other than that, very impressive work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]