December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One slime to save the day

by Citsua - Jam Entry

You are the last slime of the world.
All your siblings have been killed by greedy humans trying to level up.
Avenge everyone !

Your belly can contain everything : objects, or even humans !
Grow bigger and bigger and use objects to kill them all !

I finished this game in 48 hours but I submitted it to the Jam because I didn't have time to upload the source. It was my first Ludum Dare as well as my first completed game ever ! It was a great weekend and I hope to do it again.

(don't mind my English, I'm French)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#202Humor(Jam)2.59
#214Innovation(Jam)3.00
#262Fun(Jam)2.86
#379Theme(Jam)2.43
#446Graphics(Jam)2.52
#447Mood(Jam)2.33
#472Overall(Jam)2.48

Comments

yugillaume says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Buggy: you cant change directions while having something in your belly and you fly to infity while you eat something too...

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Funny idea. :)

Citsua says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Yeah the game is totally broken but I'm gonna try to fix some bugs^^.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Once you get to about 4x size it becomes difficult to actually pick up any more fruit to grow.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Its such a shame this game is so unfinished..... i can really see a lot of potential. Such a great idea. i wont begin to list all the under-developed things and all the bugs in this game as the developer is probably already aware of them, but even with all its problems I spent more time on this than a lot of other more complete games in this Jam.

Citsua says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:02am

Thank you skysthelimit, and don't worry I plan to continue it :). Right now I'm focusing on debugging it but I'll release more versions after the Ludum Dare.

jomomomo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:26am

Can't play windows games. :-(

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Can't play, mac

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Cool idea. The frame rate just dies at some point if you let too many enemies spawn though. :) At a certain size, I had trouble picking up objects, not sure if it's because my slime was standing on top of enemies or something. It would be cool to be able to crush them under you when you're big enough. :)

Warzone says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:30pm

It's a pretty interesting idea, has has great potential. But it just needs to be fixed.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:11pm

I like it quite a lot. Only issue is that it's really, really difficult to move and control the camera once you get really big.. I'd get up to 5 times my size and the camera would swing wildly when trying to aim. Other than that, it's pretty awesome!

Dikkop says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Nice game, hilarious characters! Kind of missed the audio though...

rezzish says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:45pm

There needed to be more games about slime. Thanks!

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:50pm

There's something terrifying about being chased by a crowd of adventurers and seeing it all from such a low angle that few zombie survival games get this right. I absolutely loved the concept and the ideas behind it. There's plenty here that could be worked into a full, polished game if you wanted to. Super great!

Zuige says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:07pm

You only get one… Game?

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Great idea ! I like the way the character shrink down as he is attacked. Nice work !

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:29pm

J'ai trouvé ce jeu intéressant, j'ai bien aimé le fait qu'il fallait "manger" les divers chose pour grandir ou les utiliser sur les aventuriers.
J'ai joué plusieurs partie, j'ai même réussi à atteindre x4, mais j'ai jamais pu manger d'aventurier comme tu l'avait sous-entendu dans ta description :(
Super jeu!

Citsua says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:00am

Zuige -> Yes, you only get one slime to kill everyone ! Or you only get one belly to store objects, or whatever you want.

Gaspard -> Merci beaucoup :). C'est normalement possible d'avaler des humains mais j'ai peut-être oublié de réactiver cette possibilité lors de la dernière mise à jour.

Everyone -> Thanks for the feedback !

wezrule says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:35pm

interesting concept, but needs more polishing :) I fell off the edge and didn't die

tobbez says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Short interesting game, lots of good mechanincs in it that don't really get explored and you quickly get very large. A bit annoying that even the tiniest of object can block your path.

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:41am

Un jeu bien sympathique, dommage qu'il n'y ait pas de sons. Je ne peux pas non plus avaler des humains et pour quitter le jeu on a pas de touche ? Parce qu'après le game over, il y a rien qui se passe :(

A part ça, c'est un très bon jeu.

Mes scores : taille X6 et 107 humains tués

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]