December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dolphin Rescue

by capnramses - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a WebGL game.
I am hosting it online here: http://antongerdelan.net/dolphin_rescue/

I have been working with WebGL for about a year and wanted to try making a game. I went Keep-It-Simple-Stupid and did 2d, all on one screen. The game is inspired by the Atari 2600 game SeaQuest, except you are a dolphin!

You rescue sailors from sharks and return them to a boat. When you rescue 5, they can row away, and the next level starts. You run out of air, and have to come up to breathe or you'll die! It gets progressively harder, with more, faster sharks.

To meet the theme I gave the dolphin a special super power - The Sonic Scream - but you can use it only once per game, so you have to be strategic. It knocks out all the sharks, and they go belly-up, but it also refills your air, so you can use it for two types of last-ditch defence.

I added a few interesting bits of scenery for fun, and used a second framebuffer to add in some minimal screen-space special effects.

I hope that you enjoy playing it! I had a great weekend making it.

Please feel free to email me if you want to know more about getting into WebGL programming or OpenGL. I have some OpenGL tutorials on my website. http://antongerdelan.net/

Anton

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#270Humor2.86
#302Graphics3.31
#337Fun3.11
#408Mood2.90
#420Overall3.10
#447Audio2.63
#728Theme2.46
#730Innovation2.53

Comments

poingferret says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Really cool, nice limitations and really fun!!! Keep it up!

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:02am

Overall quite good!

Interesting effect with the algae at the bottom. Also loved the shaking effect when the ship reached the bottom.

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:06am

Nice game. I really love the sound that comes when you complete a level :D

frickajr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:10pm

interesting retelling of Sequest!

mortus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Absolutely hilarious game! You should have named it "Dolphin Kidnap"! Why, oh, why do I have to snatch those perfectly safe divers and where are the ship survivors? :D

Great game, I've got a lot of fun and laugh of it!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:59pm

hehe that game is a funny one. Cool a sinking ship as ... god job... Now taking a breathe :)

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Good job ;)

DanielVF says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:23pm

I though for sure sharks would the drawn to the great big pile of blood from a failed rescue.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Nice, Good solid game. Sometimes the people dying offscreen was frustrating. Like the screen effects a lot.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:09pm

I love underwater stuff. To few of these!

Good!

Ozeotropo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Nice game. I like the wavy effect the sea has.

Kvisle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:54pm

I made it to level 4 before an avalanche of sharks got to me. I like it, and I like the use of shaders on the bottom (I'm assuming it is a fragment shader using time as input to move things around).

Well made entry.

netguy204 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29am

Well executed. Played great. Loved the blood splat when some hapless diver was in the wrong place. The sound made me chuckle. Well done.

The way the screen blacks out as I'm running out of air was a great cue and added some nice tension to the game as well.

Anton_D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:07am

Good job!

NuSan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Prety funny, i realy enjoyed the drawing sound, when you "rescue" a sailor. It take me a long time to understand that air was limited, so i keep dying at first. Keep up the good work.

loxo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Nice concept and good effects. I got only to level 4, because I was to often at the border of the screen and couldn't react fast enough to the sharks. It would be nice if there were more than one sailor to rescue on screen, so you don't have to wait until they reach the safer center.

sadiquo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Great game, well done!

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:23pm

That's a big iceberg! :D
There are some good ideas here, game is nice! Let me guess, "You Only Get One Dolphin" :D

capnramses says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:57am

thanks everyone! @mortus in the spirit of 1980s games it need an inconsistent plot! @Kvisle the seaweed are actually little strips of about 8 triangles, and i animate them in the vertex shader with sin (time + height + x_position). there is a post processing fragment shader that waves the entire watery part of the screen though something like texture_coord.s = sin (s + time) and texture_coord.t = cos (t + time) @loxo yes that was incredibly evil putting the boat on the left side of the screen - i regret nothing! @somepx you only get one "sonic scream" which is like your get-out-of-jail-free super power

Fenmar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:02pm

It is a very good game. It took me two tries until I understood the sonar scream, because I was pressing space accidentally ^^ You can see it in the Let's Play I made: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=40LSR6JrPqw

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Good idea! It's the first submarine game that i see!

sandbaydev says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I liked this entry a lot and believe it could be expanded. For mobiles this could be one. Different type of levels.. different boosters and all sort of things.

Lulvy sounds.

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:06am

Great game.. it reminded me old arcade games. The mechanic is great. Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]