December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

HellBow

by kumoi - Jam Entry

Requires Oculus + Hydra on Windows.
Hello Everyone!

To download our game, be aware that Chrome may cause the download to fail as it contains an executable.

We tried our best to get a Web and Android Build in time, but we could only focus on the deployment that uses the Oculus and Hydra. If you still get a chance to try it out with the required hardware, I can guarantee it is a barrel of fun! Unfortunately the Youtube videos do not do it justice.

We used Unity, Maya, Photoshop, Audition, Audacity, bfxr

For more info about our development, please check us out at http://teamec.tumblr.com/

Stay tuned if you guys want to still play our game on a web platform. We will be loading it outside of the Ludum Dare Jam on our Tumblr.

A special thanks to our game testers: Matt and Derek

Signing off...
George, Calvin and Mike

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#129Theme(Jam)3.24
#130Overall(Jam)3.41
#136Innovation(Jam)3.26
#146Audio(Jam)3.28
#152Graphics(Jam)3.74
#157Fun(Jam)3.18
#166Mood(Jam)3.23
#226Humor(Jam)2.50

Comments

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:04am

Great work guys! I'll have to stop by some time to play it!

ponk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Impressive work !!!
Great job, talented people, crazy game !

Blooperly says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Wow! Definitely one of my favorites so far! Would love to see this expanded on.

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Gook graphics and sounds! I like it!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:26pm

The game lost a little something when I found out I could recall the arrow from anywhere and I became a rapid fire god of death. Much more challenging when I was running over to pick it up all the time.

But needless to say, great effort. Cracking.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Really neat! I like that recalling the arrow harms enemies too. I wonder if an entire game could be made around only the return damaging enemies. Graphics and sounds are stunning given the timeframe. Well done!

JellyMan64 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:11pm

It was a fine game, but I wished there was a cross hair!

dudsen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:39pm

I HATE myself for not having a OR Dev Kit. Played it without one and I have to say its absolutely mental to get something like this done in 3 days. Wow. Loved the goblin sounds ^^
Am I the only one who fell into that bridge trap... TWICE O_o

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:26am

Very interesting.

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:36am

This was way more fun than I expected. :D Some seriously great mechanics employed here: shoot-through and damage-on-return made this game much more than it could have been.

Lythom says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:49am

Hello, here's some feedbacks. What I think could be improve :
- Lighting. You got a mysterious "dark" world with great basics to create a cool atmosphere, but the global lighting is ruining it plus it like a good shadow display for what I wanted to do. I saw some efforts for some spots, but either it's due to the engin or the lack of time it really can be improved
- Feedback when big ennemies are hurt. Didn't know I there where invicible or if I had to keep shooting.
- You start to tell a story/give a context on a grave at the start. References to that story while playing would improve the immersion. We just feel we get there to punch some monsters instead of living an adventure.

What I liked :
- The atmosphere, great effort =) (music + models)
- The gameplay
- The surprise before the boss :p

Good work overall, thanks for the game !

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Wish I had the rift to check it out with. The arrow shoots a odd amount right of center camera and it was strange to get used to, especially without a reticule. Fun game though.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Great Job! Must have been cool working with the Oculus.

Side Note: Since you used Unity I would suggest exporting a Linux build as well. The Web player does not work on Linux machines.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Right mouse clicking is the bane of all macbook users!

Would love to play it first-hand on the Occulus.

A bit of random noise and subdivisions on the meshes would have turned low-poly repetitive landscape into something gorgeous; its a classic trick.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:08am

Nice use of the theme.
The part after the bridge start to be really tough.
I don't have an oculus rift but it's great to see people programming for it.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Interesting idea, liked having variety in the enemies. :)

postmodestie says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:24am

You created hell of an atmosphere, sound not to mention least! Great experience with the rift! I wondered if there would be some OV entries, kudos to you for making the non-hydra option! I myself chickened out of making something for the rift, after experiencing the hard, but rewarding work for the VR Jam.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]