December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cyber Defence

by Random Abductions - Jam Entry

Eight Special Attacks, one use per wave. Lots of enemies. Good luck.

Some additional information:
With shift you can switch between the two weapon sets.

After each wave the weapons can be used again.

The strength of the weapons is modified by the weapon multiplier.

The weapon multiplier increases by making combos.

The weapon multiplier decreases by letting the core being damaged.

Combos can be made with each of the eight attacks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#188Graphics(Jam)3.50
#232Audio(Jam)3.00
#291Overall(Jam)3.06
#351Fun(Jam)2.65
#366Innovation(Jam)2.61
#495Theme(Jam)2.00
#1358Coolness36%

Comments

Siewart says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:29am

Sorry for the Webplayer delay. We had some trouble with LMZA compression and the music stopping after one loop. We were not able to fix any of them :/

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:02am

Graphics are great! I felt the control didn't quite match the immersion, tho. Also, the tutorial is barely readable, but you can get on without it. An overall good entry.

Siewart says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Update: The Webplayer has been updated so it loops the music and does not compress the textures. Additionally a bug in the XBox Controller has been squashed. (Allowed by point #5 below :P)

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:20pm

I could only see 4 weapons? And I could use them more than once?

Anyways the game looked pretty good. I think it needed more feedback when you killed an enemy... maybe if there were more enemies that were easier to kill it'd be more fun.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Really nice tune on menu.
I tried with logitech f710 gamepad on mac, when i plug it in it starts auto-shooting (which became useful :) )

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:51pm

@Jezzamon: As the tutorial (should) state: With shift you can switch between the two weapon sets. After each wave the weapons can be used again. Your weapons get strong based on the combos you make.

Warzone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:14am

Very interesting game.

tcarter says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:14am

I couldn't quite get how to change weapons and repeated plays put my on wave 12.

Oli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:24am

Really great graphics and audio but the gameplay could have been more nervous though.
Good entry :)

Super Hamster says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:46am

Website doesn't work?

Several says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:51am

Not bad. It'd be nice to get flashier visual feedback when firing, hitting, and destroying, as well as when the core is hit. And to see a wider variety in enemies shapes and behaviors. Also, I seem to have misread or misunderstood the tutorial text--I thought I could only use one power per level, and I'd never get that power back.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:08pm

The game feels a bit complex from the start and didn't quite communicate the impending doom that those yellow orbs represent, personally I dislike games which have a full page of text for a tutorial, perhaps slowly guiding the player into the process could've pulled more people in.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:52am

looks really neat, it would be cool to have some help in the UI for what controls to use etc

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]