December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

HUNGRY Self-Eating Centipede

by sirival - Jam Entry

You only get one... body. And since you are a HUNGRY self-eating centipede* your tail wants to eat it! So you need to collect food as fast as you can in order to stay alive.

This is an endless runner - snake type of game in which your body gets smaller and smaller over time and you have to collect power ups to grow it back up for as long as you can.

The game was made in 48 hours by Vaios Kalpias and Vaggelis Gavalakis using PlayCanvas (http://www.playcanvas.com). It works on all browsers that support WebGL.

* From outer space

Made by Vaios Kalpias & Vaggelis Gavalakis - Follow us on twitter: @vkalpias, @nuverian

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#229Overall(Jam)3.16
#242Fun(Jam)2.94
#243Audio(Jam)2.97
#285Innovation(Jam)2.79
#298Humor(Jam)2.23
#346Theme(Jam)2.53
#351Graphics(Jam)2.91
#413Mood(Jam)2.48
#965Coolness49%

Comments

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:14am

Fun game. Would be nice if the challenge somehow improved more over time.

alcorrius says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20am

This is a strange snake. She don't die hitting itself, boxes, walls. To die you need to block the snake in the dead end or let tail eat you ^_^ So strange...

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20am

reminds me of human centipede.
but this is better!

sirival says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:21am

Thank you :) When your body shrinks your speed increases as well so if you have a really small body you go super fast. I don't know if that makes it harder though :D

DanielVF says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Lol, pausing rather than dieing when I ran into something made this much easier than the normal snake games!

sirival says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:54pm

@DanielVF indeed - if you died when the snake is small and goes really fast it would be really difficult!

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30pm

I love me some hot centipede action!

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43pm

I enjoyed playing this fun simple game. Good take on a old classic.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Nice and polished.

Lizzip says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Very polished, love the camera focusing

sirival says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:11am

Thanks for your comments guys :)

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Like the music and sound effects and look... and liked the first minute of the game. Does it get harder? I stopped playing ~300 points because it felt like I could just go on forever.

The camera made me a little motion sick... would like it more if it wasn't so bouncy.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Very nice concept. I find the camera zooming in/out very annoying.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Got me an 680 and corner suicided instead of letting that pesky tail eat my head! Very interesting and nice game :)

Mago says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Simple but fun. I thought nothing new can be created with old snake idea, I guess I was wrong. Also nice music :)

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Nice and fun game! I enjoyed so much :D Nice job!!

sirival says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Thanks for your comments guys, I wish I had more time to make it better :D

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:23am

Interesting take on Snake, and great music!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Neat little game, nice work. :)

binasa says ...
Jul 21, 2017 @ 3:57pm

Perception: A lightning paced attention game that will test your accuracy and reaction time.http://altaymagnit.ru/weather/sprint-598u-driver.php From M3me: Turn your iPad or iPhone into a fully secure wireless multi-touch trackpad, keyboard, remote and more for your Mac or PC.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]