December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Right Block

by dcampos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my entry for the Ludum Dare 28. I tried to follow the theme as close as possible, and this is the result: a puzzle game that resembles some kind of "bejeweled" game in appearance, but is much different in essence.

Controls: click to destroy a block (you only get one chance!).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#101Theme3.66
#131Innovation3.55
#444Overall3.07
#446Fun2.93
#614Audio2.25
#665Graphics2.59

Comments

desmarkie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:24pm

It took me a couple of goes to realise what was happening and why, but this is a nice puzzle underneath. I think with some animation in there to help see what's happening it may help that. Cool concept.

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:31am

From the start it wasn't quite clear what the goal of each puzzle was, but once it became clear it was a fun little game.

chardish says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Interesting mechanic! It would be nice if you could hover over a group of blocks to see how many are there. Often what I thought was the biggest group actually wasn't, which gave the game a bit of a trial-and-error feel.

dcampos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Thanks for your comments, people! You have given me some ideas on how to improve the game for a future post-compo release.

@desmarkie: animation was a planned feature, but I ran out of time before I could do it.

vallde says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:14pm

I liked the mechanic, but some feedback about what's going on would be interesting, some movements are really hard to follow

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Simple but still very fun, very innovative! Thanks for taking part in Ludum Dare and Good luck! :)

Katamori says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Great concept; I think you should have displayed on the screen, how many block should have formed the possible biggest form from the same colour. But this (and the lack of other informative HUD elements) is the only mistake I could notice.

Also, I can see some potential in the aspect of expanding this game outside Ludum Dare. The concept is brilliant and has a lot of potential in the aspect of creating harder levels.

joe40001 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:41am

Well made little game, what did you code it in?

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:58am

Can't understand what the rules but it was fun to play! I beat it by random within 3 minutes.

NuSan says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Great puzzle idea, i realy enjoyed finding the solution. Just need more and harder levels !

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Too few levels, i need more.

grifdail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I would love to see more level ! It's was a bit hard to understand at first, but After I finished the game by clicking randomly on the screen, I finaly get it. Sad it's not longer. Good job !

mmickyman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:10pm

I totally completed it.
I guess it's a nightmare of Level Design to add new levels, it's a solid puzzle game mechanic nevertheless. Good job.

Thorig says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:50am

It is hard to come up with a puzzle game. This is a commendable effort for making one!

dcampos says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Thank you all for the feedback! I know it's a bit random/try and error by now, but I'm really working on improving it for a post-compo version. The player will have some hints as the biggest possible matching group, number of blocks in current group, etc. My goal is making the player think a little more. Check back soon!

@joe40001: I coded it in Java with LibGDX.

anvoz says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:33am

Cool concept. Really fun to play, nice and simple. That was a great use of the theme. I think all puzzles you created were good and clever, I really enjoyed all of them.

It would be better if the game displayed a message to tell that you win or lose after clicked :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]