December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

UniSwarm

by ChaseC - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimalistic RTS centered on destroying your enemy's home planet while protecting your own.

How to Play:

Your home planet is the red circle on the map.
Click and hold it to release units that can move to other planets and attack the enemy.

Left click to select units, and right or middle click (the mouse wheel) to direct them.
You can click and drag with any mouse button to select multiple units.

(Edit: Selected units now change color)

You can capture a new home planet, but only if you remove all units from your previous one.

The white number in the middle of each planet is how many units that planet has in reserve.

The planets grow and shrink, so try to pick a large one to generate the most units.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#331Overall3.21
#371Innovation3.08
#389Fun3.00
#451Graphics3.00
#573Mood2.65
#758Humor1.56
#768Audio1.37
#783Theme2.37

Comments

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:48am

Not really sure why, but I just lose every time :(.

Good concept though.

cdgugler says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:49am

I like it! Minimal and creative.

zacaj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:49am

I don't have a middle mouse button :(

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:15am

Well-polished. I really like this style. One gripe is that I had no idea when units were selected, but I figured it out eventually

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:24am

Animation is neat, but hard not to compare it to Eufloria.

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:25am

I really liked this, it reminded me a lot of "Eufloria". Good job.

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:07am

Really cool game and I like the clean look!

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:10am

Really like the look and minimalism, but it's difficult to figure out how to succeed. I understand the basic mechanic, but building on early progress is very hard. Love the general gameplay though, just need a bit more direction, I think.

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:07am

This is really cool! I love the simplicity, and with a little refinement I can see this having a ton of depth!

I feel that the theme may be a limiter here, and that perhaps moving beyond it could make the game better.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:28am

I like this. Super minimalist, and kept my attention. Cool idea.

ErikU says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:38am

An intriguing concept. Has a bit of a learning curve, and I still don't think I fully understand it, but after failing a few times, it begins to make sense. I agree with the above that the selection could be more clear. I do like this game play style though, and winning was rewarding. Nice job.

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:13am

Love the simplistic approach. The control a bit confusing at first (not used to use my right click mouse button on laptop), but I get it after reading your explanation here.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52am

Really cool take on the node/planet growth genre. Gotta say that the AI is pretty tough to beat, I've only one one out of four games so far, nice work! Sound, game restart, and maybe some particle effects would make this a great game.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:02pm

I thought I knew how the game is going to be in the beginning, but the "you only get one"-homeplanet thing really made it a whole new experience. Also very well executed. Awesome!

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:42pm

The concept and graphics are very good, but i lost a couple times till i understood what to do. More instruction are necessary i think.

burgerdare says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:03pm

very reminiscent of galcon, but the simple aesthetic is pleasing enough to set it apart.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:33pm

It took me three or four plays to really understand how this works, but it was engaging enough that I enjoyed exploring.

I can pull units out of the red dot, but I shouldn't pull them all out. If I send units to nearby dots, my rate of supply increases. I want to create a big swarm, and eliminate the blue player.

Elegant! I love abstract RTS games, though they often boil down to exactly this kind of gameplay. I don't think this is the only way to abstract an RTS, though: I wonder what else could be made!

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Very similar to Eufloria, but still a fantastic game.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Nice work on this. It took a couple playthroughs to get the hang of what I was supposed to do, but the game was really enjoyable once I got the basics down. The minimalist visuals on this were perfect. Good luck!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:57pm

interesting mechanics. never quite got the hang of it, but i liked the swarming.

Zhrack says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Nice and minimalistic! I like it!

sprawl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:02pm

I think the fact that you can only have one planet adds little twist to this genre. I really enjoyed it.

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Fun and creative game. I continuously lost, but it didn't seem unfair or anything. Well done!

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:36pm

This game is great. I learned what was going on very quickly and it was a pleasure managing my units and figuring out which planets I should inhabit. Very well done

PyroSneak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Very good, spent way too much time playing it lol

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Hard to figure out at first but really fun after I got the hang of it :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Cool concept, idea is solid, and gameplay is great!
Reminds me of a game I used to play when I was younger... It's also a bit like OSMOS! :D
Very nice :)

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:43pm

I love the aesthetic and the movement on screen. It's very calming to play. I think some ambient music would make this really cool! ^_^ <3

joekinglake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Really like this, the mechanic is really interesting and it feels really smooth. Could definitely use some sound effects & music. Great job!

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Very simple game. I have to say I'm not the biggest fan of this gameplay and I've seen it many times already.

Anachron says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Fun new take on a classic formula!

Eric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:59pm

I like it but the controls are hard to get down at first, but after trying for a few minutes i got it!

YsenGrimm says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Reminds me a lot of Eufloria, which is an interesting concept but with your own little touch. Keep up the good work.

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Good Concept, the aim isn't very clear. Why would you attack a grey tile? Ohhhh, I realize now! It would be great if the AI captured other planets.

jprogman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:22pm

I couldn't understand the motive, but I do love the concept. Nice work!

ChaseC says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:32pm

The AI can actually capture planets, but there's a bug preventing it from doing so in some cases.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Nice concept. I like graphic minimalism but I miss some sounds and music.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Wow! That was one slick game! Good Job. Won on my second try.

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:04am

Fun, but a bit hard.

SoundGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:18am

very nice! but also very hard. took me a while to get it. I've seen similar games before.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:54am

I really loved this game! I enjoy the minimalistic design and although it took a while to get the hang of the strategy I really enjoyed it :)

hnjslater says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:11am

Really interesting idea, just not quite compelling enough yet. Definitely a good postcompo....?

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:13am

Challenging and pretty. Selecting units floating in space seemed a bit clunky, and I think it needs a bit more of an explanation to really grok how to play.

@Micle2000 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:23am

Very nice graphics / fun game!

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:46am

It's a good multi agent system!! But i lose everytime

Zambini says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:18am

Nice use of minimalism.
It's a little unclear what's happening behind the scenes (why numbers go up or down) but overall a very smooth game. Nice use of swarming.

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:28am

Very interesting, minimal. Also very difficult to win, it seems. A solid strategy game.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:57am

Interesting strategy game but I didn't care for the controls.

fued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:08am

fun idea, i dont like the single planet thing tho

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:08am

I liked it very much. But it should be more polished.

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:22am

good galcon clone

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:23am

I really love RTS games. Always nice to see more of these around. This game plays a lot like Mushroom Wars which I'm not exactly the best at. My timing of unit positioning is pretty bad, but I love how easy it is to pick up and play.

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:58am

Nice strategic game. The flocking units where fun to watch move in large armies to attack planets. Very clean and clear graphic style.

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:20pm

These types of games are always fun to me, however I found this one confusing. Was hard to tell if I was selecting or directing.

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Not an original concept, but still nicely executed.

I love the graphics. Good job.

SenorDiablo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:35pm

awesome, fun and inspiring

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Simple and fun, I like it :-)

rnlf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:09pm

I don't fully understand the rules, I guess. I send my units to a new homeplanet, but either they just keep circling it and do nothing, or they crash into it and I lose.

It's a fun game and I like the clean, minimalist art style.

Before Light says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:37pm

I liked how minimalistic it is.

Managore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:24pm

A nice minimalistic take on a classic game type.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:37pm

i like the cleanness of it ..good job

alcorrius says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Nice game! I really like it, but can't win =\

bionicsheep says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:38pm

interesting! :)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:35pm

I find it a little bit hard

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Really lovely esthetics for this kind of strategy game. I got stuck playing it for a while. Cheers and good luck! :)

omaha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:48pm

This could really benefit from a brief tutorial at the beginning that offers some guidance into game play mechanics

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Nice game ! Cool gameplay, I like strategic game !

Kimau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:07pm

This looks and feels like a direct lift of PhilHassey's Galcon which he originally created for LD8 - Swarms.
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2007/11/26/galcon/

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Interesting concept!

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Great concept! I loved playing it! Really addicting! :D
It's hard to find out how to play and how to win, but when you get it, the game gets better! Better instructions would be nice :)
Great job!!

If you have time rate my game too! :)) I would really appreciate it! :)

philhassey says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Nifty!

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Fun concept. It reminds me of Galcon though I don't really see a stong use of the theme in this one.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Nice and simple :-) I had difficulties to understand how to play but after reading the manual I've got it (and when I clicked back on the tab I've just won, by doing nothing).

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Pretty slick. Love the concept.

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Really liked the concept. I just wish it worked for me. Couldn't get more units.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:09am

Really clean game, I realized a match later that my home planet was the red one, not the blue. I kept wondering why the little b*stards didn't follow my orders... xD Thanks for the game!

Fervir says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:31am

This game is very interesting.
I feel like there's a lot of places you could go with this game.

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:56am

The whole time I played this, I had no idea what I was doing, but I still loved it :D

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:05am

Really nice fly effects. Reminds me a lot of Eufloria.

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:37am

Good job, like the clean graphic style.

phi6 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:44am

I love the concept, kind of like Galcon but building units is a nice twist on the idea. I found unclear why a planet I was surrounding wasn't turning pink though and I always end up dying. Possibly I'm just not very good at the game!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:39am

Utterly confusing at first, took quite some time to get used to, but after that it was fun! Though I could not succeed. :/

Sylence says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Very nice game. I like the minimalistic look :)

Jhelle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Technically impressive and nice colors :) but this very same concept has been done many times before. Still wellmade and enjoyable.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:00pm

I couldn't quite figure out the mechanics, why planets get big and small. So I just ran around trying to conquer the blue planet. I won at least once!.

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Simple yet fun. Controls are confusing but when you figure out how to play it right you can win easily. Great game!

ColdBrain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Simple and beauty. I'm impressed!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Minimal, addictive, fun. Excellent work :D

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Seems like a really cool idea, but I had a hard time figuring out what caused my units to win or lose in combats with other swarms. I also had a hard time knowing which planets were better than others and what the number in the gray meant.

The Evil Cult says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Fun concept, quite similar to Galcon fusion. Feels to be lacking a little depth though, and luck can really mess you up. Still, good job :)

30dogs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Plays a lot like Auralux, but with a much fast pace, which I like. Check out that game if you haven't.

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Cool game. Reminded me of Galcon Fusion, but the tactics are very different. I liked the style a lot.

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:39pm

It's cool what you created here. It didn't always run smoothly but I think something really fun could come from it.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:02am

Very creative!

henrykun says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Minimal an very nice concept. I like the graphics a lot.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:35pm

I don't see how it fits the theme.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:52am

Nice concept and addictive gameplay. Liked this one.

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Really cool! I love the concept. RTS are not my favourite kind of game, but it keeps me playing, Good job!

MaxguN says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:57pm

I like the idea for this game but i also keep loosing. I lose units way too quickly when fighting, dunno why. Selection is a bit difficult.

gre says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Very interesting game mecanism. The take on the theme was not obvious but it is a good minimal game.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:15am

A bit hard, but fun. Nice entry. :)

Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:06pm

super difficult, a lot of fun, gratz

Techblogogy says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Had a lot of fun playing it. At first was a bit confused, but in the end figured it out. Nice game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]