December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Minute. One Chance.

by jojohnson1 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first entry for Ludum Dare. Although I did not have much time, I managed to come up with an idea and created this game.

In "One Minute. One Chance." you have to navigate a ball through different levels to reach the blue square. When you click the left or right mouse button, the ball will "roll" to the cursor's position. But watch out: if you touch any of the red walls, you are thrown back to level one.

The game is written in JavaScript, making use of the HTML5-canvas element. If your browser doesn't support HTML5, consider upgrading to a newer browser.

The source code can be accessed either via the inspector / devloper tools in your browser (F12) or by adding "/script" to the URL.

I know that I'm not the best level designer, but... well :D If you are able to complete level 15, please let me know in the comments because I didn't manage to complete my own game, so I want to know whether that level was too difficult.
Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#588Theme2.70
#613Fun2.70
#750Overall2.70
#841Innovation2.30
#925Graphics1.95
#1379Coolness35%

Comments

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26am

I didn't even touch it! But seriously, it's pretty fun. Also that is one gory looking death screen.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01pm

i like dexterity challenges like this. it got a little glitchy if you tried to move too far to fast, but a good game. well done.

scoopsy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:03pm

A neat idea, reminded me of the Win3.1 games of my youth. I was *pretty* sure I didn't actually hit a wall at the end, but it was fun nonetheless

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Had fun with your game.

Granor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Fun Game! It's a bit frustrating that you have to begin from level 1 after you die though.

murilo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Kind of easy but fun! Good work!

grifdail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Yeah ! The only point that disturb me is that we have to switch from mouse to keyboard for the menu...

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Got to L 11 but that 1 square gap didn't even look possible.

frogcheese says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:59pm

It's a pretty fun game, even if the whole "retry from level 1" thing gets my goat. I think your game would fare better if you got rid of that and just stuck with "you have one minute" for the theme.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:48pm

I really like the way the ball moves.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:27pm

getting through 1 square gap seems to require some kind of super karmic luck. other then that, surprising amount of variety out of extremely simple idea. it's a bit like watching paint dry. extremely addictive in it's own way.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:44pm

This was definitely enjoyable to play. The mechanics were solid and the level design was pretty good. Not bad for your first LD.

sanojian says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:50am

Nice clean design. Not a fan of starting over from level 1.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]