December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Love or gold

by Copix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your girlfriend is in danger, you must save her, but you have a terrible choice to make...

Goal : Kill the robots

Controls : Arrow keys (left/right) to move the guy
Arrow keys (up/down) to switch between the turrets (in the corner)
Mouse to shoot

My tools were : as3 with flashpunk
paint and gimp
not enough time for the audio (sorry...)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#685Humor1.83
#908Graphics2.00
#920Mood1.63
#960Theme1.84
#967Innovation1.93
#984Overall2.07
#993Fun1.63

Comments

syawqy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39am

sorry, can you explain more clearly how to play this again?
and just for suggestion, I prefer using WASD + mouse rather than arrow key + mouse

Alink says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:02am

Really weird control choice. The bullet push mechanic is a good idea but I miss a jump ability to use it correctly.

Copix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:26pm

I'm here to learn so, I take note of those things thanks... But for the jump I would add a bonus but not enough time... I did it in less than 24 hours and that was too short (sorry), next time maybe...

bsowers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:56pm

WASD controls would've been good. It was really hard for me to aim with my left hand.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Nice idea!
Once I realized, you can stand in the left corner and have enough time to shoot the bots, I made it. Then I was to make my choice, but couldn't move... That made me discover the secret ending O.O Starting over, i realized, the game did not loose keyboard focus, but I was trying to move with WASD :D
I had fun anyway ;)
Is the endboss able to kill you? he seemed to just push me around.

SamH says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Interesting, but very hard to control because the same hand controls the player and the turrets. Also, the bullet is not very visible, it could be slightly larger I guess.

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:31pm

I agree with Alink. Shooting from above to protect your guy on the ground is totally cool, jumping would make it a lot easier :)

Zenkerdus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:25pm

I don't think this needs a jump button. I like how i have to use the correct gun so i dont knock the enemies closer to the player. The mechanics are not perfect but its a good concept!

Since it takes some effort to hit the enemies, some more satisfying feedback for hitting the enemy would be great, (sounds or different frame)

The boss wasnt much of a challenge since single enemies doesn't seem to hurt you.
Shot my girlfriend by accident, nice little touch ;)

Interesting game, i think. Good work!

zatyka says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:16pm

I like the idea of controlling 2 objects at once, and using one object to protect the other, but I think it could have been more cleanly executed. Switching between turrets felt a bit unnatural. Also,the bullets were a bit hard to see. Perhaps making them larger,or with a more contrasting color would help.

I don't think jump is necessary either. Beefing up the capabilities of the turrets would replace any need for a jump.

frogcheese says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I liked the part with controlling both two turrets and a character, but since I played it on a laptop it would've been a lot more comfortable to control with WASD instead of the arrow keys since I have to use a touchpad instead of mouse.

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Quite short, and can be tweaked a bit to make it more entertaining. I loved rescuing my love, though.

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:24pm

I have no mouse, so this game is incredible hard for me. It is cute though.

rosa89n20 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Keep getting one hit kill :'( control is little bit odd..

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:45am

Much rather would have had WASD than arrow keys, though I guess that is a preference. There wasn't a lot of feedback about whether or not I was doing damage.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]