December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The 9th Life

by adcrusher - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In the year 247XX, you are a cat-loving scientist who owns the last remaining cat in the world. Fight off hordes of dogs in an epic showdown!

Controls:
Arrow Keys to move
X to jump
Double tab any arrow key to dash attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#30Graphics4.24
#97Humor3.43
#268Overall3.29
#283Fun3.20
#290Theme3.25
#314Mood3.03
#409Audio2.69
#584Innovation2.78

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42am

Oh this mad me giggle a bit but it was fun and had a great idea with it.

dudsen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Win only? :( Possible to get a web or mac build?

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Fun concept and good graphics but how the heck are you supposed to beat jetpack dogs? I couldn't quite jump high enough and they kept killing my cat.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:39pm

I liked the graphics and the audio, the game was fun as well, though sometimes it was very difficult to stop dogs from both directions.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Really fun game, it's kinda hard to hit the jetpack dogs. Really nice graphics. I liked this game a lot.

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46pm

How do I beat the jetpack dogs? Good game, but I keep getting beat by the jetpack dogs!

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Fun little game with great art. @bentog: try jumping and then dashing up.

Sylence says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Haha really nice :)

ainokaisa says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Those running dogs when they hit the cat :)

YellowLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Nice gameplay, but you should have the attack controls on the title screen :y (1st playthru I was panicking defenselessly)

Mad props for pumping out so much good pixelart/animation in such short time :^)

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Hehehehe...is great! I try save the cat but the dogs are better... :P

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Awesome art! I loved the arcade style of gameplay. If anything it was a bit quiet but concidering the art and gameplay, i dont care =)

nikev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:50am

Nice graphics and fun gameplay!

nkling says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:29pm

The back of that main character's head is really well rendered. Fun game, awesome artwork!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:36pm

good graphics but difficult game

PlayHabit says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:40pm

I love the art in this game.

Katamori says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:21am

Expand it please! It look so well, and I love the story too!

bttf says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:56am

Damn, just by looking at the screenshot, I am upset that there is no Mac OS X build : [

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:02am

Lol! Great idea!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:20am

Very nice graphics! Love it

adcrusher says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:47am

@bfft:
Updated with Mac port!

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Poor kitty :(
Nice game I love the graphics, but I think that the attack must be assigned to a different button instead.
It will be an awesome mobile game :D

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:30am

Starts up with a black screen. Any way you could give me a version with a full-screen toggle? If this was made in GM then it's probably the same issue I've had with other GM games. Starting in full-screen doesn't work for me for some odd reason.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:39am

NEVERMIND! Got it to work. Had to update some drivers.

The art is great but the double tap control scheme creates a weird issue. It would be much more intuitive and seamless if you could just hold in a direction and press an 'attack' button. That way I could jump to the right, up+attack to kill a jetdog, then left+attack twice to zip to the left side of the screen and kill the other jetdog, drop down the right+attack twice to kill the dog on the left and the right. The way it is now, you lose vertical positioning when you have to double tap, so your dash attacks from one side to the other don't always line up and in a game where every second counts, you miss the target.

I'd love to see the controls refined because the game has the potential to be really quick, challenging, and exciting... and your pixel art is friggin' awesome!

Good entry!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:43am

Kitty D:
Quick and simple, good job!

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:38am

i really dig the art. the sound was ear piercing. i thought the flying enemies could have spawned a tile lower so you don't have to jump and hit them. some other commentors were having issues with the double tap attack, but i think the underlying issue is where they spawned that made them frustrating to kill. not bad overall. keep it up!

eskivor says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:52am

Nice animations, but the avatar for me looks like he has no arms. The dash should be easier to use.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:54am

Graphics are great, but it's hard to survive

Several says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Collision seemed kinda hit or miss--sometimes I'd hit the jetpack dogs, sometimes I'd pass through them. Movement also felt too slow when running.

It seemed a little odd that the scientist is better suited to dog-wrasslin' than, say, better enclosing the cat-room. I'd like to see the ability to place and repair defenses and distractions like walls, turrets, squeaky toys, mailmen, pathogens, etc.

Very stylish art, though.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:43pm

(for me the OS/X version just said "this is damaged and should be moved to trash" on Mavericks)

Orangy Tang says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Needs an in-game control description, but good fun! Awesome pixels.

sykotomy says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:43am

This was a fun play. It was hard to deal with a lot of dogs at once though. Maybe some kind of power up would have been cool.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Really amazing graphics. Controls are also quite solid, but I feel like there was supposed to be a double jump feature? I can't figure out how to stop the jetpack dogs.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:02pm

I like graphics very much! ;)
Good gameplay too!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:47am

I couldn't really tell what was going on and the controls were a bit difficult to get a hold on

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Very nice pixel art.

dudsen says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Thanks for the Mac port! Run animations of the professor are super nice (The jetpack dogs, too - of course :D )

Solid and funny entry. Is it possible to rescue the kitty after a certain amount of waves anyway?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]