December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Demise of Sol's Demise

by TheMaster99 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi everyone! The Demise of Sol's Demise is my third ludum dare entry, but my first one for the compo. Apparently I'm much better at non-programming related subjects than I feared.

Anyways, TDSD (shortened name) is set in a universe where a robotic race called the Beep-Boops decides to rebel against the tyranny of the Blargh-Blargh empire. (Looking back, I think dominion would be a better name then empire. Aw well.) The Blargh-Blarghs don't take this well, and lets just say that there is only one Beep-Boop ship left, with only one missile. You are that missile. Will you destroy the enemy flagship, or will you be overwhelmed by the bullets, asteroids, and/or narrow corridors? Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#342Audio2.81
#557Fun2.78
#597Humor2.00
#660Innovation2.65
#685Graphics2.57
#764Theme2.41
#765Mood2.37
#846Overall2.54
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:23am

I felt like my eyes were trying to cross while I played. I dunno if it's the framerate or the speed of the background or what. And then I kinda sucked at the game, which I don't think is related to the problem I had with the graphics. xD

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:28am

I didn't like running into walls it just flung me back to the middle :v would be nice to be able to just flyabout.

Rahazan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:25am

Very hard :P.

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:29am

A bit glitchy but fun nonetheless.

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Rockets are a bit random, sometimes they fly much faster than the ship so it's no use trying to avoid it..
Music is pretty though!

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:32pm

I tried your game already yesterday when you posted the link on IRC. I see you implemented the color fading on the engine exhaust I suggested to you :-)

I still like the gameplay and art style, but after playing it again on my smaller resolution notebook, I found a minor problem: The game tries to open a window with a fixed (but too large) resolution, so that the edges are invisible to me. You might want to make it configurable.

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:36pm

nice idea but a bit buggy. I liked the sounds.

Ditto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:54am

very glitchy, controls are really good, but I sometimes get teleported back ~100px and get stuck until a missile kills me...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]