December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yogo Boom

by rogerklotz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

YOGO BOOM - You only get one boomerang! Fortunately you can catch it and throw it again!

Defeat various enemies through 4 levels while upgrading your stats.

With a little help from: LibGDX, R.U.B.E, RubeLoader, Paint.NET, sfxr, hiero

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#90Fun3.58
#209Innovation3.38
#278Humor2.81
#306Theme3.22
#326Overall3.22
#569Graphics2.79
#588Mood2.63
#667Audio2.06

Comments

ViliX says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

Basic concept, but great game!

jmcrafty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:03am

Hey great job! This is really addicting and the collision engine is awesome. Well done

icedmetal57 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:34am

Really like the boomerang mechanics, having it go endlessly until you catch it. Awesome!

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:36am

I love the boomerang! Innovation +1 :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:00am

Pity that there aren't more levels. The boomerang mechanic is interesting :-)

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:44am

This was fun! I also made a boomerang game, but it's more a puzzle game. Very different! Check it out :D
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=29328

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:57am

Now that was fun. Loved the "zombies on ice" level and the way the cars pushed away those enemies, and the controls felt very good as well. The boomerang mechanics are kind of funny, but a at times a little easy to exploit (sort of letting the boomerang fly in a small circle while hiding behind it). Having an upgrade menu was a great idea to increase motivation, and it seemed to make sense and was easy to understand. Overall, great work. :)

Ditto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:31am

throwing the boomerang and luring zombies to walk into it was fun ^^

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:35am

Addicting game, the concept its very simple, but fun. But its too easy and dont know where is the theme here. but Good job, i like the game :D

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:20am

This game is really funny :D I want more levels!!!

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:38am

hahahah fun game. it is very simple, but nice

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:47am

Nice game, I really liked the boomerang's behaviour.

Lafolie says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:06am

Neat game, enjoyable to line up combo hits. Especially fun to create a circle of death and lead the enemies through.

KEFIR says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:07am

Very innovative and fun game mechanics! Gameplay could be a little faster thought

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:31am

I like the angry sheep mechanic and how intuitive the boomerang was. Great job coming up with a new game mechanic.

Nichii says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:09am

Holy shit, this is the best casual game I have played XD

I seriously have played this longer than any other games, I found myself keep on playing the same Road level just to get upgrades! I got myself 200 for boomerang speed and 50 for movement speed and it was overkill!

Anyway, I would really appreciate if you add more levels (or auto-generated levels) to increase the difficulty and add upgrade option for boomerang range charging time!

Awesome game, very addictive XD

occash says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:51am

Very nice game, need moar levels :)

bodsey says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:53am

The mechanic is really interesting and shows great potential. I would like to see this in a full game

kibertoad says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:49pm

extremely cool concept, but could do with a bit more challenge.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:10pm

hahaha fun game , you know it kind of looks like my game xD but i have a Tennis Ball xD hahaha great work n_n

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:39am

That was actually pretty engaging. Especially with the upgrade system and boomerang mechanic!

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:43am

Interesting game, but too easy.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Great game. The upgrade feature gave it lots of replayability too :)

Orangy Tang says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Wow, this was a bit of a surprise! Nice mechanic (the boomerang makes a lot more sense than the 'returning arrow' a lot of entries are using), and levels that make you do different things (particularly liked the frogger style road with extra hazards.

Good crisp graphics too. Nice one.

stefan says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:17pm

This is one of the best and most fun games I played so far for LD28. The only thing I would love to see are more (and harder!) levels. Good job!

Croze says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:34pm

That was really awesome, I got to 20 damage and an unreasonably high boomerang speed. I was just grinding level 3 by running and clicking haha. Great work

myachin says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:00am

great! very nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]