December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Granny Loosetooth and the Toothfairies

by KayZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You Only Get One present on Christmas. And you'll get it from your only Grandma. But old Granny has a loose tooth, and if she loses her loose tooth she might be too sad to give you your present.

Make sure Granny doesn't lose her tooth and protect her from Toothfairies by placing food at corners to make Granny go around the fairies. Can you do it? But beware: Give her the wrong food and she might lose the tooth you tried to protect.

And sometimes, just sometimes, she behaves just like you'd expect from an ol' granny with only one tooth left; that is: rather unpredictable. But that's her nature.
=====
This is the first game I ever finished. There are 5 levels. Enjoy :)


------------
Instructions
------------
Granny usually takes the shortest path to the exit (the open space without a wall). But that way is always blocked by some fairies and they will steal her loose tooth.

It's your task to select and place some food at places where you want Granny to take a turn before you tell her to 'Go Granny, go'. The different kinds of food have various effects on the health of her tooth and you have to combine them correctly so that Granny gets enough food, doesn't loose her tooth (have you ever tried eating carrots with a loose tooth?) and doesn't get caries.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#104Humor3.40
#364Innovation3.10
#511Theme2.83
#667Audio2.06
#684Fun2.59
#740Overall2.72
#781Mood2.33
#829Graphics2.20

Comments

Sylence says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:21am

Haha this is great :D
Enjoyed playing it. Good job

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:22am

I didn't really get it for some reason. Tried figuring out where the granny goes and why, but to me it was pretty random .. stillt enjoyed giving it a try! Nice story, too :)

PlugNPlay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:05am

A nice pathfinding puzzle game. Took me a little while to figure out Granny's prefered movement and the different food effects, but was fun afterwards. Would have been nice if the placed food would still be there after a restart/fail.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21pm

I liked the idea a lot. It was a bit difficult to figure out at first, but once I got it, it was fun. It could've used a fullscreen mode though.

hazzen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:23pm

I think I'm supposed to figure out the mechanics by trial-and-error, but it takes a while for a single "run" and the first level doesn't give me too many options.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Very interesting game, failed to quite understand it at first but after a while was very fun :D

KayZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Ol' Granny likes to take the shortest path to the exit (the place without a wall), but if she sees some food around a corner, she might just go there instead. Just avoid running into fairies cause they will take her only tooth.

And sometimes, she just is the old granny with her last tooth and behaves rather unpredictable. But that's the way old grannys with only one tooth left behave like. Trust me :). (Or rather, I am abusing a pathfinding algorithm to do things it was not supposed to do *g*).

Glad you enjoy the game :).

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:35pm

At first I had some trouble getting it (I just skipped the instructions because readin's weak), but then it clicked.

It seemed a little complicated, but ended up being a perfect blend of ridiculousness. The effects of each food was relevant to the gameplay and the levels were pretty good at exploring that.

Having a way to keep your placed foods so you can incrementally approach the solution would be a good interface improvement.

Great job on your first finished game!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Pretty funny premise, but my granny kept running into the fairy if I didn't put enough food down, and her tooth fell out if I put too much :(

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Ha funny idea, good fun.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Very hard game. Should be a text or something explaining the different type of food (what they do, how they influence granny). Otherwise, the concept is excellent ! I laughed ! Well done

KayZ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Thanks for the feedback so far. I've added some instructions in the description above and will do a post compo version after Christmas.

occash says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:06pm

I like it! bur I can't to do it well)

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:42pm

It seem a tower game :D

Nazariglez says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Lol, pretty original game!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:16pm

It wasn't obvious enough that food could be placed 'around a corner'.

As a player, I presume that the characters can only see 'realistically', and so 5 times, I tried just putting the carrots where she'd be able to see them.

This 'trial and error' method of learning the mechanics is frustrating.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:18pm

It wasn't obvious enough that food could be placed 'around a corner'.

As a player, I presume that the characters can only see 'realistically', and so 5 times, I tried just putting the carrots where she'd be able to see them.

This 'trial and error' method of learning the mechanics is frustrating.

The different stats of hunger, looseness and calories was neat, but felt like they didn't fit together all that well.

I appreciated the level design, however.

floorman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Didn't get how to play the game.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Good story behind it

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Using the tooth fairy as a villain was brilliant.

jimmypaulin says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Like the irreverent setup very much, and the pathfinding etc. The graphics were cute and the munching sounds were great :) Good fun, but pretty hard….

natpat says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Definitely interesting, and made me think. I enjoyed the story, but I would have liked for the food to stay where you had placed it after a reset.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Super cute, and great idea, absolutely love it! Especially how the different types of food affect her in certain ways :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]