December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Console Wars 3D

by wezrule - Jam Entry

There is only 1 Limited Edition Next Generation Console, which everyone wants to get their hands on. You are lucky enough to score it on Black Friday (1st level), but now people will kill you for it!!

There are 3 3D levels, each level with its own challenges and different controls. W A S D, mouse moves and clicks are used to move.

I made this myself, and everything was made from scratch (shown in the timelapse video) as I wanted to enter this into the solo 48 hour compo but ran out of time :(.

Don't forget to change the resolution at the initial screen (the default may be quite low!).

If you have some trouble with the levels, check out the walk through video :)

Source code is here:
https://code.google.com/p/console-wars/

Edits:
- Patch 1.1 Updated a GLSL shader (Night vision) which failed on lower end devices

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#148Humor(Jam)2.89
#281Theme(Jam)2.72
#330Innovation(Jam)2.68
#401Fun(Jam)2.50
#441Graphics(Jam)2.53
#467Overall(Jam)2.50
#482Mood(Jam)2.06
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Funny concept! Liking the direction taken and very ambitious.

donaldducky says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:19pm

The game crashed when I tried to open it (OS X)

omaha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:21pm

South Park!!! haha Great take on the theme (and love that reference)

cappelnord says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:22pm

This is a pretty ambitious project. Unfortunately I keep dying in the first level for no obvious reason :(

30dogs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Combining the 3 different minigames was a cool idea, and the whole premise is very funny. I was a little confused on the 3rd stage, but it was satisfying once I found the right spot ;)

wezrule says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:46pm

@donaldducky
I don't have a mac to test i'm afraid. Is there an error? Can you update your drivers, see if that helps, thanks

@omaha
haha thanks

@cappelnord
There's quite a few things that can kill you! keep your eye out ;)

@30dogs thanks :D glad you liked it

I have updated a new version (Patch1.1) for windows (mac/linux coming soon)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Here's crash log on mac, hope it helps http://pastie.org/8559328

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:08pm

This was different. I beat the game. I liked how you had to destroy the plane. The second level didn't make much sense to me, but I beat it somehow :P It definitely needs some polishing, but this could become something interesting.

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Its a cool idea, unfortunately I cannot get pasted the first level

jmaasing says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:54pm

It ran fine on my Mac OSX 10.9. It crashed on a shader (NOT the same as eralpkaraduman reported) but that has been fixed.

knalb says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Hey Wez. Tom here

Gonna give some critisim here

First of all the good. I liked the models you create with some good animation in there as well. and the fact that you were to make 3 different quick games in one based on the ludum theme.

The main problem with the game is that theres no feedback. Some sound would be nice even if they are just stock.

Either way it was good effort and keep up the good work

Hopefully next time I'll have something to show :P

AmmoreChicks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Ehy, it's very challenging! Funny idea :-)

sknoslo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:15pm

I couldn't get past the first level, and wasn't really sure why I kept losing. Do the bookshelves kill you? Anyway, nice effort, with a little extra work, this could turn into a pretty fun game I think.

wezrule says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:39pm

thanks guys. I have uploaded a timelapse video now, and also a spoiler to the description showing you have to get past all the levels!

wezrule says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:39pm

@sknoslo yes falling bookshelves kill you :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:57am

It's a funny game :D But I cannot get past the first level :S

wezrule says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:23pm

@glovecat
There is a "walkthough" video now, which shows you what to do :)

crazyrems says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:10pm

It's not obvious to see how we die at first level.
It's not obvious to see where to shoot the rocket at third level.
At the second stage, I did not realise I just simply won without any other try.
The overall is a bit slow (moves and rocket).

01rafael says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:38pm

It's funny game, but, too hard for me. I don't like casual, but love obvious mechanics

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Very funny, nice concept! :D

Zuige says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:32pm

That vas very cool! Incredibly ambitious for an LD game!

psc1997 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Three minigames in game... Interesting ;)
I liked slow motion very much :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]