December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Move

by Flyinpig5 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**APPLET IS HERE! IT MAY TAKE A LITTLE WHILE TO LOAD**

One Move is a platformer where you have to complete levels, but you can only use one of each type of move(bar a few levels). There are three types of movement other than walking. Jumping, crouching and sliding. Jumping is obvious as to what it does, crouching makes you half as tall and sliding is like a mixture of crouching and moving.

On some levels you may have infinite use of all three types. Some will restrict you to having one of a certain move, or one of two certain moves. The final level lets you jump, crouch and slide only once.

It's also permadeath. You die, you lose all progress.

So come and run, jump and slide your way under narrow ceilings and over spikes whilst dodging darts and boulders which will ruin your day.

One jump. One slide. One crouch. One hit. One life.

One move.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#415Theme3.04
#483Graphics2.96
#737Innovation2.52
#750Overall2.70
#753Humor1.59
#766Mood2.36
#829Fun2.35
#998Coolness48%

Comments

ob6160 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Very nice :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Fun, though very hard, game! Have you been able to get through the game?

I couldn't download the file with Chrome (I had to switch to Mozilla), and the download was very slow. Try to get another download source!

Good luck, I wish you the very best! :)

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:26pm

I ran through all the levels to make sure they were able to be completed, but I haven't run through all 12 levels without dying yet :p

And I'm not sure what your issue was with chrome, that's what I used and I tested the download. I'll find another source if problems continue c:

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:30pm

I got a message that said "coming soon" and something unrelated to a game it looked like. You might wanna check your server or somethin.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:32pm

The zip doesn't contain the exe... So I couldn't play. Tried to re-download but it did not help. Looks cute though.. wanted to play! :(

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:55pm

You need to run the .jar file :)

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:01pm

It would be a lot better without permadeath. Otherwise, solide concept, even with dodgy collision detection.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Permadeath is kinda hard... Also the character floats like 5px over the floor. The graphics are really nice :)

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Yeah I didn't have time to perfect my collision. I had to finish around 5 hours before the closing time because of school. It was annoying. But yeah, that coming soon message is just a google images link I found, I haven't uploaded it yet. Still trying to find somewhere to upload it to

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:56pm

This was fun and enjoyable also was a tad hard but hey good effort.

baton4ik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Web version doesn't work.
The game is nice, but the permadeath is unnecessary and frustrating. Also the player sprite on the Win version is higher that the collider.

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05pm

To clear this up:

WEB VERSION IS NOT YET AVAILABLE - I put that at the top of the description.

And I know that the collision doesn't properly, but i ran out of time. I know the fix also, but it's too late for that now.

I'll release an updated version after LD is finished if anybody is interested. c:

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43pm

every time I die it will back to tutorial

kbake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:48am

Tough game! I did not do well. Good job!

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Applet is here everybody! c:

Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Ouch! So hard to win at, but oh so nice to look at! I think I'm going to need an easy mode to beat this one...

squibbons says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Definitely interesting concept, but I wish the game started right away with the concept. Lvl 4, where you actually begin to have only have one move to complete it felt like the real start of the game, while lvls 1,2, and 3 felt unnecessary and like they didn't fit the theme.

stvr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:46am

Super tricky to control, platforms are smaller and higher than they look... I couldn't get past the second level. :(

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:06am

The graphics are lovely! they remind me a lot or retro PC games! The idea is pretty neat I like how he shrinks size :) Fantastic job my friend!!

tobbez says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:45am

The menus were pretty glitchy (mouse clicks doesn't seem to register).

The hitboxes being way off was annoying.

Level 6 seems to be impossible (looks like the starting position is incorrect, you start in the lower left instead of at the top). Additionally, even if you started in the right place, that kind of level design is really frustrating for the player (combined with starting over from the very beginning), since you just make a guess at random for which path to choose, and then you have to start over if you picked the wrong one.

Showing the level select screen between levels doesn't really fill any function, since there is never any real reason to choose an earlier level.

The basic idea was pretty good though, and I think you could have explored the concept more easily by using smaller levels focusing on the "puzzle".

Xanjos says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:15am

This is such a cruel and difficult game but still it's pretty good.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]