December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Abe: Candlehunter!

by gavintlgold - Jam Entry

You are Abe: Candlehunter in this puzzle adventure! Abe needs to light all the lamps in the house. You have only one candle on your person at a time, so act quickly before the wax runs out!

Use arrow keys to move around, space to jump and CTRL to pick up a candle lying on the floor. When Abe is in the light of a lamp he will automatically blow out his candle to save wax.

Careful! Abe is scared of the dark, so you must make sure not to blow your candle out. Watch out for magical paintings that hate candles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#253Innovation(Jam)2.89
#337Theme(Jam)2.56
#412Audio(Jam)2.19
#431Mood(Jam)2.39
#469Graphics(Jam)2.39
#470Fun(Jam)2.24
#480Overall(Jam)2.44
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:30am

Great job finishing a game! Great idea! I had trouble with the mechanics of it, but maybe it was my fat fingers.

C.Lodwick says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:31am

The paintings cracked me up.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32am

good job but i dont enjoy

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32am

To hard, for me

angela says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:34am

Original idea! Really challenging. I only made it to level 3 before I yelled at it and quit in frustration :) Fun game though. I might try again later.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Really love this! Couldn't get past level 3 though :(

Nelien says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:09pm

I like the puzzle platformer stuff, but a bit too hard for me -- that's very possibly just my general suckiness in platformers.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Dark and moody, a quirky concept nicely delivered, the title screen art in particular is superb but the whole experience was created with care. It was damn hard though! It was tricky to p[lan the best route around the maps, more trial and error for me. Lots of potential I think

Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:14am

Really cool game, love the idea! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/CxUIxKQApqc

Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Love the graphics! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]