December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Out

by SuperPokeunicorn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello all! This is my second Ludum dare game. I've had this idea in the back of my head for a while, and this was the perfect opportunity to make it.

Also, before you say "Hey! This doesn't use the theme!" be sure to play the game all the way through. Trust me, it will make sense in the end.

Tools:
Eclipse
Paint.net
MuseScore
http://www.rw-designer.com/image-to-icon
Launch4J

A word of warning, it's a little creepy ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#124Mood3.45
#375Audio2.76
#426Humor2.39
#431Theme3.00
#528Overall2.97
#692Graphics2.55
#737Innovation2.52
#802Fun2.39

Comments

dcolgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:04am

Interesting storytelling and twist ending! High marks for mood. Platforming was a bit tight but worked to advance the storyline.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39am

Loved the mood and the story unfolding.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56am

Mood was great, story was interesting, and I really like the minimalist art style, but MAN was it HARD. Thank God there weren't lives in this game because that poor guy died over and over and over and over. His hitbox is just...weird and it threw me off quite a bit. Solid showing though.

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:03am

Very interesting take on the theme. This is an example of how to move games in the direction of art. Very thought provoking, good work! That said, the gameplay mechanics were weak and unrelated to the narrative theme (as far as I could tell). I think there were maybe delta-time issues where sometimes thing moved at a reasonable rate but most of the time it felt like everything was moving about twice as fast as it should, which kind of killed the platforming for me.

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17am

The platform was a little too finicky, it was either the lack of inertia, or some bounding box issues, but I am sure glad that you have infinite lives!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:30am

Oh Nice story.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

Strong theme ties. Hitboxes were weird, making the platforming very difficult once the enemies appeared. Appropriate atmosphere.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:35am

Nice game. The story drove the game along despite the simple mechanics. Nicely done.

Nancybeast says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11pm

It wasn't particularly fun to me. I feel as though the movement speed was too high and just began to infuriate me after a while as I continuously missed platforms.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:14pm

To answer the question about the hit box, the hit box of the player was scaled down a bit from what it originally was in order to prevent it from looking like the player was floating on the edge of a platform. As for the jumping/platforming, keep in mind that this is my second Ludum Dare entry and I only just started working on platformers, so I don't quite have the jump down. I feel that the jump in this game was a bit short and quick and I will try to improve on that. I'm glad you guys liked the story though. I was afraid that it would come across as a bit teenage poetryish.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Perfeeeeeeect! *_* the kind of game I love. I loved how creepy and aerie all the atmosphere was, and I never really expected that to be the secret! Amazing, very experimental! Mine is also a bit experimental you should check it out ^^

Tyro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:13am

I had a lot of trouble getting past the room that said, "And it scares me." Cute graphics, very minimalist.

scoobyben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Mood was great. I'm glad there was instarespawn, as a lot of harder games suffer from spending more time loading than playing if you die quickly :P

Pitoum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Pretty cool way to tell a story or use video games to try autobioggraphy.

Hiku says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Haha very simple but nice :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Well, can't get through "And it scares me" room. I also don't like this too simplistic style of art -- but I must admit that fits well with the music.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:56am

Great mood, but everything was a bit too fast moving.

mystakin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:16am

Killer mood and nice story, but the game is really tough. I almost was hoping for a death counter at the end of the game, haha.

Masadow says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Not sure if I understood everything, surprising ending ^^

eli says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:30pm

HUHHHHH!!! I will have to play the Alternate Eli's "Out" game for sure!

eli says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:30pm

The game runs fine but I can't see the bottom of the window (my screen is 1366x768). I assume some kind of start button is down there? =\

Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:01pm

@eli no, you move with WASD and jump with space. Move to the right to advance.

eli says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:49am

Yay, I finished it!

Loved the storytelling, found the platforming to be quite hard. Great atmosphere -- I especially loved the simple yet effective graphics. Good work!!

(ps. a simple trick to help the player leap off platforms is to have a counter keep track of how many frames have passed since the player was last on a surface. Then you can say "if player is on a surface OR counter < X, allow jump". Play with X and now it should be much easier to jump across the level. [You might need to add a test to make sure the player doesn't double-jump.])

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]