December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Naughty List

by Custard Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Have you ever wondered what Santa does to the people on his naughty list? Apparently he sends elves to kill them! Defend yourself from the waves of elves, but remember, you only get one arrow!

There are 3 levels in this game, each more difficult than the last. Kill all the elves in each level without dying to win the game.

It is a 2D sidescrolling game written from scratch in Java without external libraries.

Controls
=========
W - Jump
A - Move Left
D - Move Right
Mouse - Aim
Left Click - Hold down to charge shot, release to fire
NOTE: You can use arrow keys instead of WSAD too

I will be writing up a post mortem on my website, as well as some blogs about development. I will also be posting a timelapse and video development log on my YouTube channel, so please subscribe if you want to see that.

Website: http://www.custardgames.com/
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/CustardGamesYT
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CustardGames
Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/CustardGames

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#162Theme3.51
#250Humor2.91
#370Fun3.04
#465Overall3.04
#534Mood2.70
#534Graphics2.87
#709Innovation2.57
#805Audio1.16

Comments

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05am

Love the character art! Maybe you could have added some tiles to the levels? Nice Game!

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:12am

Yeah man. I wish I had time to make art for the level, and some polish like death animations for the elves. I guess it's standard LD stuff to run out of time. xD

sirival says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:17am

Nice! I started to get better and got into it :)

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:28am

That bow is SO fluid I loved it, my only criticism is the arrows collision detection, it seems a bit offset. Really fun though, I felt very MLG playing this game

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:42am

Fun idea but a bit buggy! With some work it will make a great game!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:12am

Good Christmas themed game, I'd say don't post-mortem, post-compo continue. :)

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:13am

Please think about Azerties next time ;)

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:19am

Once I found out I could reuse the arrow, everything changed!
:) Great fun shooting all those elves! Good controls and humour too.

Stals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52am

Great idea, really enjoyed playing. Liked that you can shoot multiple enemies at once.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Bow mechanics very nice! Nice use of the theme too. (and encouraging recycling...) ;-)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Santa Always make good participations in games :D

rvaquero82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Character art is fun :D

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Wow, this game was so hard! haha. I loved the controls tho. The collision detection seemed to be just a tad funky sometimes, but overall it was very well done :)

Bcadren says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:43pm

One arrow feels like a unique use of the theme. I honestly can't tell if the game is winnable or not though I keep dying on the second level. It feels fun...but the simplicity of the foe AI combined with having to run around/through them makes it feel too difficult and repetitive past the first level. It is really nice to see someone else use Christmas, I'd like to add.

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I'm glad there is someone out there saving me from the naughty list elves

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Just in time for christmas. Awesome stuff. Think you'll add more to this game and expand upon it?

kutullu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Add some nice tiles and music and you have a winner on your hand. Cool entry, really entertaining. :)

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Nice game, was really difficult and I couldn't win. But I loved the idea. Nicely done.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Nice game, I enjoyed it. Enemies spawning directly on your face is kinda annoying and you could have added variety to the environment, but on the overall it's a good game you made!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:47am

Enjoyed this :) Controls feels great, shooting too.. I hated when these elves or whatever it was jumped from nowhere right onto my head.

97%Awesome says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:12pm

fun but becomes a bit irritating when your arrow get stuck in a bunch of 5 enemyies

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:23pm

great gameplay, a lot of fun. pretty dificult but it is managable. :)

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Very difficult game, quite stressful you never really get the time to enjoy the level and what is around you because elves are hunting you. Seem to be some problems with shooting the arrow sometimes especially when shooting it directly into the ground and also sometimes you kill two elves with one shot and that should probably be fixed. Final level seem to require some good spawns to beat.

The shooting when you are not shooting directly into the ground or shooting while an enemy is on top of you feels very nice.

Idovoodoo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:08am

Nice artwork :) On my first go I thought I had to get all elves in one shot... doh! Cool fun and nice graphics, well done!

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:22am

The idea at the core of this game is really nice. Only one thing bothered me as far as the gameplay is concerned : there is no way to jump above enemies, thus when you miss a shot, you're often stuck between a rock and a hard place (gotta take damage).

Nice work though, nice use of the theme !

euske says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:59pm

I felt it kinda depends on luck. It gets pretty hard at Level 3.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Gets pretty repetitive fast. I felt the random spawning adds fake difficulty.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:10pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y8YDlvTpcRQ
My first impressions on the game :D

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:13pm

I played a game that looked exactly the same already, but it was from the jam, and wasn't as good as this one.
The idea is ok, but I felt that charged arrows could be more powerful, the graphics are fine, and the terrain is great, excepted one little detail, it seems to be possible to shoot the arrow, at a place you can't reach.
Great game overall.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Also, I like the elves IA(They jump to dodge arrows... )

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Nice entry. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]