December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rex Helianthus

by Sytech - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is the first time I've participated in a Ludum Dare contest. I didn't have time to add all the functionality I wanted, but I think it turned out OK anyway!
This game was made to look and feel like a Commodore 64 game, thus the low res graphics!


Description:
You are Rex Helianthus, protector of the sunflowers. Your mission is to protect a rare specimen of an ancient sunflower seed. Guard it from insects, birds and weeds by using BB guns and insecticides like DDT as it grows. You only have this one seed, so make sure it develops fully!

Controls:
Escape - Quits the game
Mouse - Aims crosshair
Left click - Uses selected item
1 - Selects item Water can, used to keep your plant hydrated.
2 - Selects the Anti-weed powder, used to get rid of weeds.
3 - Selects insecticide, used to kill all sorts of bugs.
4 - Selects the BB gun, perfect to kill birds with.

In game description:
-PLANT HYDRATION indicates the hydration state of the plant. Green means good, yellow ok and red when it's dehydrated. Use the water can when it's red to water it!
-STATE indicates the plants stage. When you reach state 8 you've won!
-DAY indicates what day it is.
-ITEM shows your currently selected item.

The plant will evolve if it's not under attack or hydrated.
Weather/day/night also affects the plant's growth.



Enjoy!

This game was written in C++ with SFML 2.1.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#291Graphics3.33
#354Overall3.18
#431Theme3.00
#453Mood2.83
#475Innovation2.95
#498Fun2.86
#551Audio2.40
#1217Coolness44%

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:31pm

A good game, watering can doesnt always work for me but I really enjoyed the game. Good game, art concept and theme

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:50pm

solid game

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:26pm

I dig the graphical style, but the sounds were kind of annoying (especially the sound of the bug swarm).

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Not to bad, It took me a bit to figure out what to do.

deathray says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:32am

Can we get a zip instead of a rar?

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:01am

Wow, that was absurdly fun! The audio really helped keep the pressure up, and I like the style. Well done!

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:13am

I think the game could benefit from a bit better pacing, there was one point where it felt like two days went by with no events, nothing at all to do. I'm guessing the events are random, at one point I just got totally overwhelmed - weeds, 2 insects, I think it was like 4 birds in a row and bee's just buzzing about. It's cool though for sure!

Sytech says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:29pm

deathray: Zip uploaded instead of RAR.
john_conder9: Yes, the events are random and I agree that the pacing is a bit off. I didn't have time to balance the game that much. The chance of an event occuring increases as the days go by, so when 10 or more days has passed you can get overwhelmed by events.

DST says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:28pm

I'm a sucker for the graphics! Nicely done!

Mirroar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Interesting, and good work with the Commodore-Style graphics.

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Nice idea, a little stressful sometimes. Seemed to get way more spawns in my first try then after I restarted.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:25am

nicee

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:32am

It's really fun and I love the c64 mood, it just goes on way too long!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]