December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Thing

by Simon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Warning: you can only play once until a player reaches the eye and everything is reset.

Edit: I uploaded a new version that is bug free :) If you are not here to vote you can play this post compo version.

The more the eye sees you the more you decrease in size until you're no more. Try to get to the eye by putting down walls and using the existing ones to protect you.

It's a partially persistent game. Each player leaves a trace: the walls put down and the position at the moment of death. The more the game is played, the more easier it gets to reach the eye. When a player reaches the eye the game is reset and you can play again :)

I think that the game would work better with millions of players to allow each one to replay the game at anytime...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#989Overall2.00
#1456Coolness30%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Dude! i can ony play once and it lasted 5 seconds, i died before i could do anything...

Simon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:58pm

But you will be able to play it once another player finished it :)

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:16pm

This game is very weird, and I didn't like it.

I died before I could do anything, and I didn't even know what sprite I was. The grey circle moved to the red circle and it ended. If you expect anybody to finish this game so others can play it again, it's going to have to be you who completes it.

Simon says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Sorry to hear that. I'm fully aware that the game lacks many things but it was already finished twice.

mamoniem says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:47pm

The game punishing me. and say you already played ;(

Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:17am

Wouldnt realy work for me, however, I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/CxUIxKQApqc

loxo says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:00pm

I think you had a good idea, but as you already mentioned this would work better with more players. In my opinion the biggest problem about your game at the moment is, that it's not clear how to play it, at least I don't understand. There is not enough time to figure it out., so more time would be great. But a tutorial or a test mode independent of the "you can only play once" limitation would be helpful. And you should rate other games to increase the amount of players coming to your entry.

Simon says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Thanks for the comments everybody.
I had little time to play other games but I should be able to do it soon enough.
Also, I prepared a post compo version that I will be adding tonight or tomorrow. You will be able to try again if you wish.
Sorry about the fact that you had a hard time playing the game. I hope that less bugs and more players will smooth the experience as I don't think I will be extended the game any time soon :)

Avocado says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Well, it could make for a neat phone app or something to check back and play every once in a while.

Clayblob says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Doesn't work for me...

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:19am

nice idea but is verry difficult to play if you are playing alone. also its not got much of a goal or puzzle apart from place wall to get to eye, but that might not have been added yet. I your planning on taking this further you might want to add a maze or something for players to work through. Also i like that you can only play once before the game gets reset, but its verry restrictive. Works with the theme but like alot of the games i have played during this, the theme kinda holds it back. I do love the idea and multiplayer elements though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]