December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Objectless

by lucars83 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Cell shaded first person hidden object game.

Created in Unity

The game hangs for 5 - 10 seconds after starting. This only happens in the stand alone version, not in unity so it is very hard to track down.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#323Graphics3.26
#473Mood2.80
#643Innovation2.68
#909Theme2.00
#919Overall2.42
#926Fun2.09
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:46am

Interesting concept and art style, but a bit short and the controls were very slidy

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:48am

where is the friction

madlee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49am

It seemed like I was never quite sure what I was doing, but I was getting places. Interesting, but I think it needed a little more time. Also, the controls were wacky for me, but I think that might have been Unity being confused about my keyboard layout

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:50am

Cool graphics, liked the simplicity.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51am

Interesting. I like how well things can be hidden in this environment. Only achieved 86% completion, so I guess the objects are well hidden.

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

Nice style. It seems like it could go interesting places.

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:22am

I really like the graphics style.

You should expand on this with the same black and white cel-shading.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:56pm

I like the shader-style! :D
The navigation is a little bit ...strange!

haveric says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:46am

As others have said, the controls are very slidy. Also, not capturing the mouse within the game area on web is annoying when playing any first person game. I like the art style though.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:50am

Controls feel a bit wonky, but the game was very interesting. I think that some music to set the mood would have been awesome as well.

vapgames says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Nice idea, but this desperately needs more levels.

LTPATS says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:40pm

This has a lot of potential, I like the idea of having one item per room to find, and the traveling between rooms was interesting. I'm not sure if the yellow box was the end or not (I was pressing space and nothing was happening). Also the controls were pretty slippery and it felt weird pressing forward and having the character move sideways. Other than than it was a cool concept and I would definitely enjoy seeing something like this fleshed out a bit more!

sahoskins1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Nice art style but the controls are a bit awkward. My main issue with it was that the mouse was not hidden and locked to screen so running it with a dual screen setup was a bit frustrating as the mouse was flying all over the place between screens. With a bit of tweaking this could be very nice though.

Adam Tea says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Very interesting :) I only wish I struck a similar sense of atmosphere. Check my entry out. I was going for an Antichamber feel myself, but you nailed it.

Poxymyr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:24pm

This could be great, but it lacks something that would make it addictive ._. Good concept though, even if it doesnt really fit the theme imo.

pet_snake says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:33pm

The movement was a big killer for me. When moving I never felt I was really incontrol of where I could move, also the mouse sensitivity could of been boosted a bit to help with movement. Overall, if you work on this concept a bit more and keep with a textureless cellshaded hide and seek game, you might have something pretty fun to play around with.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]