December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lift Up

by aeveis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Didn't think I'll get this much done? Well anyway a really cute small game. There is one... friend.

A/D or LEFT/RIGHT arrow keys to move
W, UP arrow key, or SPACE to jump

Extra help:
You can point the direction you want Rocket to go.
Jumping when Rocket is going faster will make you go higher.

Tools used:
Art: Gimp
Programming: Flash Develop, Haxeflixel
Sound: OpenMPT
Level: Ogmo

Downloads and Links




chardish says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Fun! I couldn't figure out how to get the dragon to go in the hut at the end, though : /

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Nice! That mechanic was very satisfying - and so was the ending, with that big star cache. I can see this having an interesting storyline to carry it forward.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:37am

This was so adorable! :D It reminded me of how in Super Mario World you could jump of Yoshi to get jump higher hahaha. The music was awesome too! Good job!

oldmanbiles says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:47am

Music and graphics are bang on, dragon was a bit erratic at times but I feel that it's my skill at video games showing there! Brilliant job.

magicdweedoo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:31am

cool game !

Ryusui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:34am

This was just plain adorable. I had to play it twice, though - had a glitch at the end where Rocket made it to the platform but I fell back into the pit. ^_^;

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:38am

This was incredibly relaxing and enjoyable to play, well done.

It was unclear that the dragon didn't need to go into the hut - so that was confusing.

Also, the theme could have been clearer.

Nonetheless, I enjoyed this immensely.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Polished graphics, sound, gameplay, and a really cute art style!

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:40am

A complete package jam game, art + simple innovative concept, + an ending that made a grown man saw "dawww"

triforcespark says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:40am

Good graphics, and nice gameplay :)

SiENcE says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:42am

Very cute and charming game. The Idea is wonderful! I love playing it. Moe levels would be cool for a pre compo version and you could add a timer for highscore. Overall the best game i played until now!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:47am

Nice relaxing game!

dkilford says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:53am

Cool game! The pixel art looks nice, the game controls nicely, and I enjoyed the couple of minutes it took me to finish the game. The music gets a little repetitive, but it isn't too bad. Overall great job.

raarlac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:31pm

The art is amazing!! and the game is very polished also. If the level design and the controls were better it would definitely be a 5/5

Magdev says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:43pm

nice to see people using haxe
pretty cool idea for a game

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Very cute graphics and animation!

stvr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:08pm

A D O R A B L E. The controls get a bit fidgety at times, but this is a lot of fun!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Really liked this one, the cute artwork, the story and the music. The dragons are super cute, you should definitely develop this further and add some more levels/content to this. :)

jonask says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Very nice atmosphere

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:45am

oh bless your soul. i really enjoyed this. completely charmed. i didn't figure out until the very end that i could control both. i was controlling just the purple dude the whole time. i wish i had someone here to play this with me D:

yosh says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:40am

So cute! A bit hard to get the controls at first, but then it's all fun! I wish this game was slightly longer... also kind of sad ending : P

Erkberg says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:39pm

A very, very cute game with a nice gameplay mechanic, good job! Those graphics are adorable.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:03am

When I figured out that I should use the dragon acceleration instead of double jumping at the top, the game became really fun.
Graphics are really sweet, I miss some fun tune, it would have been perfect with it.

xhunterko says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:15am

Completely adorable! :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]